Dorothy

KnitPicks catalog Dorothy

Yesterday I opened my mailbox to find the Knit Picks catalog with my Dorothy shawl on the cover! Dorothy is a shawl I designed specifically with Knit Picks yarns in mind. It’s a two color raglan with very simple patterning that changes often enough to hold one’s interest throughout. It starts off with an easy slip stitch pattern that creates great texture, then moves on to an eyelet stripe, and finally ends with a very simple chevron lace.

You can purchase Dorothy as a kit (and at a discount) in one of two color pairings, or as an individual pattern. I had originally envisioned the shawl in red and white, so I’m thrilled that Knit Picks used that same color combo for their own version. I hadn’t pictured the brown and lime shawl, but I love it. It’s got real pop and a completely different character than the red and white shawl. (And it’s actually not far off from my swatch, which was knit in brown and hot pink.)

I will not be offering Dorothy as an individual pattern through Knitting Kninja, but I WILL be including it as a bonus pattern in an upcoming ebook that I have been struggling to finish. I hope you like it as much as I do! I think it’s a really fun summer accessory. I still need to get a good photograph of my own sample, which is knit in a completely different yarn (though very similar colors) to the version shown here. Knit Picks was out of the Stroll Tonal in the colors I wanted at the time, so I ended up using Imagination, their alpaca blend sock yarn. I really enjoyed using it and it created a rather lovely texture to my sample.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Dorothy”

  1. canarysanctuary Says:

    I just got the catalogue too! It looks so great. Congratulations!

  2. intrepidotter Says:

    It is very beautiful. It’s pretty much the only thing that made me open the catalog ;)

  3. Alicia Says:

    Agreed, it’s a lovely shawl!

  4. Natalie Says:

    Lovely! Congrats on the cover, it looks great. Very striking, and caught my eye in a great way when I took the catalog out of my mailbox.

  5. Allison Says:

    Congratulations! I am a huge fan of the red-and-white version.

  6. Lina Says:

    Congrats! It’s such a pretty shawl!

  7. Jacey Says:

    I loved the shawl when I saw it on the cover, and when I realized I “knew” you, I was even more excited! I love it. It’s so fresh and lovely!

  8. Happy Fourth from California Craftini | Craftini: My Daily Cocktail of Yarn, Beads and Paper Says:

    [...] it is, right on the cover of your Knit Picks catalogue – Knitting Kninja‘s “Dorothy Shawl.” As we are all about local here, we won’t provide a link to Knit Picks, but you know [...]

  9. Sandy Says:

    Awesome! I loved the cover shawl the minute I saw it — sort of different from anything knitpicks has offered before. Beautiful!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

