Corinne

At the time I finished Corinne, my strapless bra was missing. You will have to trust me when I say that the sight of me in this dress without a bra is the last thing you want to see.

Pattern: Corrine, from Knitting Fog
Yarn: Rowan cotton glace, in the discontinued Delight
Yardage: I used just under five skeins, so about 625 yards
Yarn Source: Jannette’s Rare Yarns

This was a very fun knit. It’s my first lace project, so I guess I just threw myself off the deep end. It’s also my first large project knit in the round. I had some real trouble when I had to split the stitches for the top part, since I was used to knitting the lace in the round. Back and forth was horribly confusing, and I severely messed up the yarn overs and had to frog that section several times. But it’s all worth it. This dress is so gorgeous, and it fits like a dream. It was clearly kismet that brought it to my attention. I had exactly six skeins of Cotton Glace leftover from another project, and a slip in the right size and color to match. When I have a working camera again, I’ll get a picture of the dress when I’m actually wearing it. I don’t like most knit skirts and dresses. The material, even when it clings, is too thick and clunky to look sexy. But this! It’s amazing. I love it more than words can tell. I would absolutely purchase a dress like this in the store, if I wasn’t a cheapskate. It makes my rather flat derierre actually look shapely, which is a feat.

So far, actually, this is my favorite knit. I’ve got close to two skeins of Cotton Glace leftover, so I’m thinking of making a matching lace wrap.

3 Responses to “Corinne”

  1. Sarah Says:

    You must find the bra and fix the camera so we can see the shapeliness!

  2. spiffygrits Says:

    Apparently the camera is working again of its own accord (!?) so I will beg the husband to take pictures of me shortly!

  3. Stephanie Says:

    I’m so glad to hear the pattern worked out for you and you enjoyed knitting it. I can’t wait to see a picture of it on.

    -Steph.

Leave a Reply

