Butternut

Oh, I’m going to blather on about knitting, because, let’s face it, I’m an addict, but first I have to gush about food. We’re trying to be more responsible food consumers, and so last weekend we braved the Farmer’s Market, which can be a tricky proposition with three kids in tow. (Incidentally, there was a booth at the market selling knit baby sweaters. It was manned by a grandmotherly type. She seemed to be using a basic pattern with some variations on each. My favorite was a yellow one with owl cables.)

I purchased the ingredients for a huge pot of vegetarian minestrone, which has lasted us all week, and tonight I decided to use half of the butternut squash I bought. I had baked that sucker in the oven, wrapped in foil, with butter, brown sugar, and salt and pepper. Tonight I took it out, unwrapped its golden majesty, and pureed it in the blender with milk, harvarti cheese, a little more salt, pepper, and brown sugar, a clove of garlic, and allspice, nutmeg, cloves, and a pinch of saffron. Then I poured the resulting thick golden sauce into a sauce pan and heated it with a lot of butter. At the same time, I cooked some pasta and made some baby squash with butter and parmesan. Drained the pasta, dumped some of the sunshiney sauce over the top and called it dinner.

Well. Apparently this is what we are meant to be eating in the autumn. It tasted like light shining through leaves. The only thing I regret is that I no longer grow sage. Some sage fried in butter until crispy would have been the perfect topping. Also, next time I’d like to buy some fresh butternut ravioli to have with the sauce. But, yes, butternut sauce is heavenly, and I only wish I’d thought of making some sooner. Yum.

Back to the knitting, though. I’ve commited more knitting sins and started yet more projects, though if I tell you they’re for Christmas gifts, will you forgive me? I whipped out one Anthropologie Capelet, as designed by Julsey at Peony Knits and I’ve started on a second. I won’t give too many details, as I don’t know if any of my intended recipients read this blog, but I have to rave a little about the ease of that pattern. It’s a joy to knit, goes so quickly, and I know they will make fabulous gifts.

I’m going to order my EZ book tomorrow – I’ve settled on Knitting Without Tears, as that seems to be a nice, well rounded choice, though I can’t promise I won’t get The Knitter’s Almanac later.  They both seem wonderful.

My other projects are swimming along, even if I do start too many.  I’ve finished the back of Maude Louise, and I’m nearly done with the backs of Gabriel and Eleanor’s sweaters.  Liam is demanding a green sweater, but he will just have to wait.  Especially if he wants me to make his bedspread before Christmas gets here.

One of the things I most love about knitting – well, besides the fact that it relaxes me, as almost nothing else does – is that it gets exponentially easier, and I seem only to be getting faster.  It’s mattering less that I can’t seem to work on just one project at a time, which is fortunate, because I seem constitutionally incapable of focusing on only one thing at a time.  It feels so good to settle in with my needles and make something.  And not just anything.  Something simultaneously beautiful and functional, not art, but certainly craft.  I love that these things I make have a use.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m still an art school refugee at heart, and I’d love nothing more than to make beautiful, useless paintings once again.  But there is a different kind of satisfaction in the functional, and I’m grateful to have a chance to experience both.

2 Responses to “Butternut”

  1. Lori Says:

    That sounds so delicious. I never have the patience to deal with butternut squash, but this is very tempting.

  2. Kristen Says:

    Butternut squash is so delicious. I didn’t like squash when I was a kid, but as an adult, I tried butternut ravioli while out and became a convert to the taste. It’s like pumpkin, but milder, and it’s absolutely beautiful to look at. I may make the second half into a pie filling, because pie is wonderful.

Leave a Reply

