Yarn, glorious yarn!

My yarn just arrived, and the color is more glorious than Knitpicks led me to believe! I was a little worried about making a nice sweater in a plain wool, but I’m frugal (read: cheap), and I simply couldn’t bring myself to spend the money on a fancy Scottish tweed or something. Even if I decide not to strand in some brown or blue tweed, I think this is going to be a really lovely sweater. Now I really do have to finish those hated gloves today, because I am eager to cast on for the Seamless Hybrid. I need to get some new needles, but I can pick those up at Beverley’s Fabrics in (heh heh) Dick’s Center.

In other yarn related news, I, um, have a confession. I had an opportunity to buy a tenpack of Rowanspun 4 ply, and the price, she was unbelievable. So I bought it. Now I am racked with guilt and glee. I mean, it’s a gorgeous wool tweed, and the price was amazing! But it’s also a large pack of yarn that I have no clue what to do with. I got it in the color Turkish, which is a lovely blue violet. All very well and good, but I look terrible in that shade of purple. I can’t use it for me. Perhaps the girlchild could have a dress in it or something. It’s just an awful lot of yarn in a color that, while lovely, isn’t one I am sure I’ll need. I don’t feel guilty about the money, as it wasn’t much at all, but I do feel guilty about taking up room and adding to my stash when there are projects I actually have planned. I may make a gift sweater out of it.

That’s it for now – I just wanted to boast about the yarn arriving.

Leave a Reply

