Baila del Pinguino

Penguin hat!

Pattern: freestyle knitting, no pattern (Now with link to chart!)
Yarn: Unknown scrap yarn (black with white nubs), Lion Brand Wool-Ease (yellow and wheat)
Yardage: Unknown, but less than a skein of the main color, and very small amounts of the others

Check it out! That’s some mad hat action, yo! I’ve never made a knit hat in the round – actually, I’ve never knit a hat. I always crochet them, because I am just more familiar with crocheted hats than knit hats. Still, I figured it couldn’t be that hard, although I have to confess I was sadly and shamefully puzzled by how to finish the hat once I’d decreased a certain amount. I’d altogether forgotten about the hated dpns. It’s not as much a chore to use them on a hat as it is on gloves, though, so no problem there.

The intarsia isn’t really intarsia. This hat was knit fast and dirty, and I just carried the yarn in back. I know that is a terrible thing to do and I paid the price in how difficult it was to make the yarn loose enough and how it distorted the face in front, but to be honest, I don’t care. It doesn’t show when Liam is wearing the hat, and I think it’s cute. As a matter of fact, Mr. Kninja has requested matching penguin hats for the whole family. Oh my!

Here’s the face up close. If anyone wishes, I can post a chart at some future date.

Penguin face

Of course, you can’t really get an idea of how it looks unless you see it modeled. When these pictures were taken, the owner of the hat was not on hand, but his little sister was happy to help out. (This would be the same little sister who snatched the hat shortly after I finished it and dashed off, shouting, “MINE! MINE!”)

On Nora

Peekaboo!

Peekaboo!

Enjoy!

4 Responses to “Baila del Pinguino”

  1. Jenn Says:

    That is soooo cute, both the hat and your daughter.
    :0)

  2. Lori Says:

    I love the hat. I might have to try to make one of these for Thomas, because he is all about penguins lately. Eleanor is just too cute.

  3. karen Says:

    wow! beautiful! I’d love the chart, if you feel like posting. My best (penguin-obsessed) friend is having her first baby and I think a penguin hat would really make her happy!

  4. Kristen Says:

    I’ll get the chart together shortly!

Leave a Reply

