Frame-up

Reproductions of Faye Dunaway’s costume in 1967’s Bonnie and Clyde seem to have become a staple in blogland. There is, of course, Eunny Jang’s beautiful twisted stitch sweater, but I’ve also seen some stunning examples at Knit Lit and Stitch in My Side, as well as a Tahki pattern that seems to fit the bill. They are all beautiful, and I love each and every one of them. But what I have not seen is this.

Bonnie Parker

That is a photo of the real Bonnie Parker, taken while she was on the run from the law. I’m not one to romanticize crime overmuch, and I don’t know what to think of Bonnie and Clyde (he sounds to have been pretty darn brutal), but hot damn, that is one lovely sweater, complete with interesting short sleeved cardigan. I like her skirt too. I don’t know if I am issuing a challenge or making an announcement. I don’t suppose I have enough readers to issue a challenge, really, but I would love to see a pattern for this sweater. If none surfaces, I may have to make the attempt myself at some future date.

Anyway, however one may feel about Bonnie and Clyde, the criminals, their demise, or the movie based on both, Bonnie seems to have inspired and worn some fashion worth preserving. Perhaps it is emblematic of the vagaries and papercut-deep nature of fashion that I’m more interested in what Bonnie Parker wore than what she stood for and what she did. I’m not proud of it, but I’m still intrigued by her sweater.

One Response to “Frame-up”

  1. Tracy Says:

    Okay, I’ll give this a partial shot… It looks like you could get away with a chevron pattern in the body. The body appears to be done in stockinette stitch. The arms appear to be a 1 x 1 rib- at least in the striped part. I think this would look good though with the solid color in a 1 x 1 rib and the stripes in stockinette. It would make for nice shaping in the waist. The cardigan is nice and back in fashion anyway. I think I see some button holes, but it doesn’t appear wide enough to need to be buttoned.

    It is a neat sweater.

Leave a Reply

