Ropes and Ladders

Pattern: Ropes and Ladders Cabled Scarf, from Pieknits
Yarn: Knitpicks’ Shamrock, in colorway Doyle
Yardage: Almost exactly two skeins, or 164 yards

I don’t know why that picture is so magenta, but it is. The actual colors look more like this.

Well, I finished it. I’m going to send it off the Grandpa tomorrow. This was a nice, quick knit, and the finished result is very pleasing. I blocked the scarf after gently washing it with conditioner, and that softened up the wool nicely. I know a colorway like this isn’t ideal for cable, but I really think Grandpa will like it, and that is what counts. The pattern is very simple, perfect for anyone just starting with cables, but the end result is so nice. Mr. Kninja requested an oatmeal scarf in the same pattern, revealing that his hatred for cables is only skin deep. I’ll win him over eventually.

Here’s the required action shot. Excuse my mouth – it’s hard to take a halfway decent picture of oneself without pursed, concentrated lips.

You can see that the colorway sort 0f swallows the cable detail. I wish that wasn’t the case, but I can’t regret any part of the project. I really hope it makes Grandpa feel warm and cozy and loved. It was knit with him in mind, and I wish him a swift recovery and a great deal of good health in the future.

2 Responses to “Ropes and Ladders”

  1. Lori Says:

    I think it looks great.

    I’m making a sweater out of the same yarn right now. It’s the third yarn I’ve tried for the sweater, but I think this one of going to work.

  2. Kristen Says:

    Oh, I would love to see your sweater when it’s done! I really like that colorway.

Leave a Reply

