Shedir – sort of

Pattern: Shedir from Knitty’s special Breast Cancer Awareness issue
Yarn: Lion Brand Microspun, in lilac
Yardage: less than one skein, about 140 yards
Modifications: different star pattern on top, small holes around the bottom ribbed edge

I wish it wasn’t so obvious in these pictures that I didn’t block the hat, but I was trying to get it done quickly, both for the person who asked for it, and so that I could return to my holiday knitting. You can spot my many mistakes as well, including the one that led to me discarding the instructions and going it on my own. As I came to the top of the hat, I did something – I’m not sure what – that meant that as I read the next row of instructions, the world no longer made sense. I tried and tried to work out where I’d gone wrong, and in the absense of an answer, I looked at the hat and thought, “Surely I can make pretty decreases and end up with some semblence of an attractive chapeau. Surely.” Well, maybe not in those exact words, but that’s what I thought. Here’s the result.

I don’t like it as much as Shedir done correctly, but I think it’s pretty good for jazz. Clearly the hat could have used a blocking, but I wasn’t sure how soon it was needed, so I didn’t want to waste precious time on that. I know, I know, time on blocking isn’t really wasted, but it’s freezing for California lately, and it would have taken forever to dry. (I’m blocking the sleeves of Eleanor’s sweater – the yarn arrived – and so I know this for a fact.)

I’m fairly proud of myself, despite some unknitterly sloppiness. I whipped out the most complicated cable project I’ve ever worked on in just a few days time, mostly time on the interstate between San Jose and Los Angeles. This turns out to be a good place to get a lot of knitting done, so next month, when we make the trip again, I’ll be sure to bring along a few projects.

Here’s a picture of me looking especially evil as I model the hat. It’s hard to take a good picture without natural light or someone else about.

Tomorrow, with any luck, there will be pictures of Eleanor’s sweater! Yay!!!

3 Responses to “Shedir – sort of”

  1. Patti Says:

    It’s still lovely! Although, looking at it…is it not just turned inside out? Hm. I love it anyways!

  2. Kristen Says:

    Nope, not inside out. If it was, the cables wouldn’t be visible. 🙂 The purls are to accentuate the cables – the cables are knit stitch and are more visible against the purl background.

  3. Andrea Jones Says:

    The purls do accentuate the cables. I think it turned out good, considering you were rushing to move on to other projects. Thanks for your comment to my blog.

Leave a Reply

