Sugar shock

Pattern: Short sleeved sweater from Erika Knight’s Simple Knits for Little Cherubs
Yarn: Rowan Yorkshire Tweed 4 Ply, color Oceanic
Yardage: 4 and a quarter balls, about 510 yards
Modifications: altered collar

So that’s the sweetest little sweater in the world, for the sweetest little girl in the world. There’s nothing complicated about it, but every inch of this pattern is classic and elegant and lovely, from the fitted sleeves to the buttoned neck, to the little flower embroidery on the front. The pattern was not difficult, but it did take a while thanks to the fine gauge of the yarn and the exciting adventure in which I ran out of yarn. Thankfully, it seems that all of the yarn left was from Rowan’s last dye lot. Notice where the yarn from England ends and the yarn from Yarnzilla begins? Exactly. It’s from the same dyelot. Yay! I have one and three quarters skeins leftover, too.

Eleanor picked the button. I was going to go with a mother of pearl button, but she wanted this pretty purple one, and I’m glad she picked it, because I like it with the embroidery.

This, by the way, is the closest to the true color that my pictures have come. You may have noticed a common background in my photographs – it’s my bedspread. The best light in our rather dark and unattractive apartment comes in through the upstairs bedroom window.

Here’s a closeup of the embroidery. I’d never done embroidery before, but it was pretty easy and very rewarding.

4 Responses to “Sugar shock”

  1. Helen Says:

    Oh its beautiful! I agree with Nora, purple is definately the best choice for the button.

  2. Lori Says:

    It is gorgeous!

  3. Rebecca Says:

    This is beautiful, I was just googling this book as I recently purchased it and this is one of the sweaters I want to make. What size did you make please? I have some Yorkshire Tweed in stash that might just be the thing but not sure if I have quite enough…

  4. Kristen Says:

    Rebecca, thank you. I made the smallest size, but my daughter is two now, and it seems like it will fit for a long time. I’d say, laying it out next to other clothing she has, that it’s about a 3T size. I used just over four balls of the Yorkshire Tweed to make it.

Leave a Reply

