Oh, the possibilities

Venezia is everywhere lately, it seems. And why not? It’s drop dead gorgeous. I finally picked up my copy of the Winter Interweave Knits today and got a look at the pattern in person. Be still my heart! It’s wonderful, truly. That brocade color pattern is magnificent, and the way the colors flow into one another reminds me of Bohus knitting, though the color changes in Bohus were usually kept to more limited stripes and yokes. Venezia has an allover brocade that gives it a distant and classic look, but the shaping is purely modern.

I am not going to have time to knit Venezia until spring, but that didn’t stop me from making some color charts based on the chart designed by superstitch that allows for a more limited palette (and thus a wider range of yarn subs). Like many knitters, I simply can’t afford to spend over $100 on a sweater, not even a spectacularly gorgeous sweater like this one. So, with the limited colors presented by some more afforable options, I made the following charts. Let me know which one you like best, and feel free to grab one for yourself if you like any of them. I used primarily autumn tones, as those are the colors that look best on me. For people who can actually wear such colors as pink and purple, check out some of the great charts over at Knittin’ Bayou.

The cheapest option for subs is Knitpicks Palette. It’s not a purely satisfying choice for a number of reasons, but it’s certainly afforable, and some of the colors are very pretty. I made three charts using the colors from the Palette line.

Knitpicks Palette Option 1

Knitpicks Palette Option 2

Knitpicks Palette Option 3

I also made a chart using some of the colors of Knitpicks Essential.

Knitpicks Essential

Elann has some great yarns, too. Here’s an option using their Peruvian Baby Cashmere, which is a prodigious bargain for a cashmere blend yarn.

Peruvian Baby Cashmere

And finally, I made another version using some of the colors of Elann’s Peruvian Baby Silk.

Let me know what you think! I may post some more options later using Dale of Norway, Knitpicks Telemark, or Elann’s Devon.

5 Responses to “Oh, the possibilities”

  1. elizabeth Says:

    i really love the first two!!

  2. Rebecca Says:

    That’s a gorgeous pattern. My favorite is the third chart; I love greens and browns together.

  3. Lori Says:

    And I like the fourth one down the best. Now you just need somebody to vote for five and six, and you’ll have a favorite for everybody!

  4. Sarah Says:

    I’m late to the party, but I like numbers 1, 4, and 6. Happy New Year!

  5. Heather Says:

    I hadn’t thought of subbing yarns from Elann. Both those options look fabulous!

Leave a Reply

