Oh, Maude!

She’s not done, not really, but I’m afraid I’ve been wearing her everywhere anyway. I haven’t replaced the button bands, or the too-small buttons, and I still feel I’d like to make the collar area look a little nicer, but she’s sooooo cozy, and she’s 100% mine, from start to…well, to almost finish. I’m not going to really debut this jacket until it’s done, though. In the meantime, here are some lousy photos of a few details.

That’s the set in shoulder, which, miraculously, turned out just right. I was so relieved about this, because my copy of Vogue Knitting: The Ultimate Knitting Book has dire things to say about the difficulty of matching a sleeve to a set in shoulder.

And finally, here’s a lousy picture of the lattice up the side of the sleeve. The size six needles didn’t make as even and neat a twisted stitch lattice as the size threes, but I didn’t want to mess with the sleeve size by using smaller needles just for the twisted stitches.

It doesn’t look quite so…what’s the word? Jagged, maybe. It doesn’t look quite so jagged in real life.

Anyway, I’ll post a real photoshoot when Maude Louise is finally finished and then, if there’s any interest, I’ll get to work on a pattern. The sleeves of this jacket make me ridiculously happy. You probably can’t tell this from the top picture, but I have a more than six foot long armspan. My arms are disproportionately long compared to my body, and while this has never really bothered me, it wasn’t until I finished the sleeves and tried the jacket on that I realized I’ve never had sleeves that were the right length for me before. I am built small, and retailers assume that small people are also short. I’m five ten and as mentioned, have the arms of an ambitious chimp, so almost every shirt, jacket, or sweater I own is a little too short in the arms and the torso. Maude, though, is the jacket equivalent of Baby Bear’s porridge. Just right.

6 Responses to “Oh, Maude!”

  1. Tracy Says:

    That’s coming out great! I like the shaping at the waist as well.

  2. expatknits Says:

    That’s a wonderful jacket! I love the daintiness of the front and the little collar.

  3. Lori Says:

    I love it! It looks wonderful on you. The waist shaping is great.

  4. Kathleen Says:

    I love the lattice up the arm, and I can see why you love her so much. She looks wonderfully warm and comforting, yet also stylish.

  5. Sarah Says:

    You should be so proud! Maude is just perfect. I love the waist detail, and I can’t wait for more photographs. You look beautiful together! (And I totally hear you about the sleeve length. I have the same problem, as well as a waist-size-to-torso-length problem. Knitting your own clothes really is the best!)

  6. pam Says:

    I think it looks great! The color is perfect for you, great job!

Leave a Reply

