Shedir, actually

Pattern: Shedir, from the Fall ’04 Knitty
Yarn: Rowan Felted Tweed, color 143, Cocoa
Yardage: less than one skein, about 143 yards
Needles: size 4 Clover bamboo 16″ circulars (I knit a little tight, but mostly, I wanted the hat fast and couldn’t immediately find size 3 needles in the 16″ length.)
Modifications: Three braid repeats instead of five…I wish I’d come up with that on my own, but I didn’t

I will need to get more and better pictures, but here’s my finished Shedir. The second time is easier than the first, most definitely, and I actually managed to get the top part done correctly this time! Yay, me! I really enjoyed knitting this hat, not least because the Felted Tweed is just as divine as it appeared to be. It feels amazing: it’s lightweight and warm, and just soft enough without being in any way fluffy.

I was feeling under the weather, so Mr. Kninja was kind enough to model and to take pictures of his own head for me.

Not an easy task, but I think he carried it off with aplomb. It’s nice to have a warm hat to wear, though the cold snap is ending. I don’t care. It’s still cold in the apartment, and cold at night, so Shedir is getting plenty of wear.

Oh, and that Felted Tweed? The yardage is insane. I still have about a quarter of the 50 gram ball left over. It certainly changed my feelings a little about the price when I realized I was getting 191 yards instead of the 125 or so I was expecting.

One last close up of the cables. I’m not great at making neat, even cables, but when this hat is worn, no one can tell. Ha!

2 Responses to “Shedir, actually”

  1. Lori Says:

    Looks great! It is a really fun hat to knit. Did you do a lot fewer repeats than called for? Because yours came out a lot more normal-head-sized than mine did.

  2. Kristen Says:

    Good heavens! I forgot to put in all my finished project stats! Yes, I only did three repeats, after reading a lot of blogs that said that was a better way. (I only did three repeats last time, but I was using a yarn that was a little bulky on needles that were a size too big.)

Leave a Reply

