Don’t cry for me, seamless hybrid

Oh, man.  I somehow misread EZ’s instructions when I was working on the seamless hybrid, and instead of decreasing every 3 rows, as is right and would make sense, I was decreasing on every row.  I thought the angle looked off on the sleeve and also that it might come out too short, so, after I’d done maybe 10 or so rounds, I looked at the book again.  Yep.  I’m doing it wrong.  Now, 10 rows doesn’t sound too bad unless you realize that after joining the sleeves and the body I had over 350 stitches on the needles.  Ripping ten rows represents a serious amount of backtracking.  I almost cried when I realized, but at least I figured it out now and not when I was still more rows in.

So hold your breath for me as I rip out row upon row of the hybrid and then try to find all the joins and put markers back on them.  The hybrid won’t cry, but I may.

5 Responses to “Don’t cry for me, seamless hybrid”

  1. loriersea Says:

    I feel for you. You have my moral support as you rip and redo these rows.

  2. Sarah Says:

    Oh spite! Oh hell! I hate those moments. But I have utter confidence that you’ll whip the SH back into shape. You are a mighty knitter, and you’ll be the boss of those (gulp) 3500 stitches and have a beautiful sweater to show for it.

  3. Jen Says:

    That stinks! Are you going to have to unknit or are you able to make a lifeline and go back that way?
    Good luck, It took me six frogs to complete my last sweater!

  4. Silver Ilix Says:

    Don’t cry! you are NINJA you can do it!

  5. Kristen Says:

    Jen, I am ashamed to admit that I have only the vaguest idea of what a lifeline is. I know I’ve read about them before, but I’ve never used one. It seems time to look it up again.

    Thanks so much for all the encouragement. I’m taking a few days off of the hybrid and working only on easy, restful projects, and then I’ll come back and teach that knitting who’s in charge. I may have to paint eye spots on to make it think I’m bigger and more powerful than I am, but by golly, I won’t let a partial sweater get the best of me!

Leave a Reply

