None too bright

I wanted to make a cute little Fair Isle hat for Afghans for Afghans.  I cast on and knit and made a hat for a doll.  Fortunately, the smallest of the spawn is getting a doll for her birthday, so now I guess she gets a hat for a doll as well.  At least it was good practice for the actual baby-sized hat I’m making now.

I am so stuck on the sleeves for Maude Louise.  I have terrible visions of people with mis-sized sleeves that don’t fit into the arm socket.  I’m scared to put up the calculations I’ve done so far, because I’m almost certain they’re wrong.  Given my doll hat, I think I have some reason to be fearful.  Bleah.

2 Responses to “None too bright”

  1. Lori Says:

    I’d blame the doll hat on the fair isle, not on you. You lose a lot of stretch, so if it had been knit in one color, I bet it would have been the right size for at least a very small actual child.

    Good luck with your math. I have a hard enough time figuring out how many rows to increase or decrease over, I don’t even want to think about the math involved with fitting a sleeve into an armhole.

  2. Steve Says:

    This isn’t a reply to your message, just a general knitting comment…

    This review of a knitting-related book appeared in the local newspaper yesterday.
    http://seattlepi.nwsource.com/books/308097_hood20.html
    I don’t know whether you’ll find it interesting, but I figured it was worth pointing out to you and your readers.

Leave a Reply

