I have the psychic

Cue announcer voice.

You’ll remember last time, when our heroine worried that she’d run out of yarn just before finishing her seamless hybrid sweater…

I think I said I’d run out just a few rows before the end.  Well, I have 16 rows and a collar to do and then I’ll be done with the aubergine portion of the seamless hybrid, and yes, I am out of yarn, this after unraveling my gauge swatches and grafting them on to the last skein.  In the immortal words of Charlie Brown, “AAUGH!”  On the other hand, it looks absolutely spiffin’, and the end is very much in sight, as soon as my order from Knitpicks arrives.  There are numerous things I can find wrong with my knitting here, but I’ve learned so very much in working on the hybrid, and I love, love, love the way it looks, even with all my errors and silliness, and this one spot where, for no reason I can find, the knitting gets a little tighter.  It seems to have happened after I knitted it, which makes me think that my usual way of stored unfinished objects (crumpled up into a bag and tossed carelessly on the floor somewhere) may not be the best.  Hmmmmm.

I will most certainly be knitting another seamless hybrid in the future.  While the endless stockinette was fairly dull, this is a brilliant design, and EZ’s math works out beautifully.  I’m starting to fall for math.  We’ve never much liked each other in the past, though I flirted with good grades and a spot in the honors classes for a while, but it was never meant to be.  Now that I’m using math regularly, I can see its good side.  It has a certain elegance that I never appreciated before.  I don’t know, kids – this could be the real thing.  I may never be the woman math wants me to be, but I think I could get used to this math thing.

I have a number of options until my new ball of Telemark arrives.  I can work on the blue hems of the sleeves and bottom of the hybrid.  I can put my energy into making the front of my McQueen knockoff.  I could try to actually finish that loathed intarsia sweater for my poor boy, who has been waiting nearly a year now for the darn thing, and who will have to wait until winter to wear it, even if I finish.  I could start one of several summer projects.  The options, they are endless.

2 Responses to “I have the psychic”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I just ran out of yarn for Glee, and I was so loath to buy another ball that I undid the last bit of sleeve number one, divided it in half, and left both sleeves shorter than I wanted them. Even then, I had to work one less row of ribbing on sleeve 2. I haven’t worked up the courage to try it on and see if I hate it. I can’t wait until your Telemark arrives so we can see this sweater!

  2. Kathleen Says:

    Oh, the frustration!

    I vote for finishing the intarsia, or doing the blue hems while you wait for the rest of the aubergine.

Leave a Reply

