Soclose

What is this? A seamless hybrid that will actually be finished?

Tis, tis! Oh happy day, calloo callay! I’m filled with joy at the thought.

We continue to have technical difficulties in Kninja Central, which is increasingly annoying. It was so much work to get these photos, upload them, and resize them, that I won’t apologize for their lack of quality. I’m just pleased that they’re here.

Knitpicks never responded via email (I understand that they, too, were suffering technical difficulties) but they did me one better and sent me my order, which included a ball of yarn that blended perfectly with what I had already. Yay, Knitpicks!

I came up with a way of binding off the stitches from the hem to the sweater that I haven’t perfected, but that saves a lot of trouble for people like me who hate seaming. I doubt it’s original, but I’m still chuffed as can be, because I came up with it all on my lonesome. I tried to take some pictures of how it works on the sleeve.

What I’ve been doing is picking up an inside stitch with the right needle and transferring it to the left needle. I then knit the purple stitch together with the next blue stitch and bind off. The only tricky part is making sure that the purple stitches I’m picking up are all lined up properly. I did a better job on the sleeve than the bottom edge, but I’m so ready to be done that all knitterly perfectionism has escaped me and I’m just going to leave Mr. Kninja with a slightly wonky hem. Sorry, Mr. Kninja!

I’m really looking forward to blocking for a variety of reasons. Here’s the crease I was telling you about across the chest – hopefully that can be blocked into submission.

Then there’s the collar, which is currently a little silly and floppy as rib is wont to be prior to a trip to the bathroom sink to commune with conditioner and baby shampoo.

Lastly, I made the sweater to Mr. Kninja’s specifications. I should have thought this through better. I went to art school – I was told about how clients work, and I have some experience in this area. Still, when Mr. Kninja showed me where on his body he wanted the hem to hit, I responded with a too mild, “Isn’t that a little short?”

“No,” Mr. Kninja claimed, “Most sweaters are too long on me. I’m short.”

Well, I was right. It’s too short. Not obscenely, horribly short, but it hits Mr. Kninja just where he said he wanted it to, and it looks a little silly. I’m hoping that I can stretch it downward during the blocking process and make it long enough to preserve whatever dignity Mr. Kninja still has. I’m seeing the advantages of a top down project, frankly, and having started on one of those, I’m seeing the advantages doubly.

You may notice that the decreases I used on the slanted bits are not the ones you’ve seen in most other seamless hybrids. EZ offers you a choice of two decreases, and I selected the simpler one, as I’d seen less of it. I’ve decided it’s not as attractive as the second choice, the one used by Jared at Brooklyn Tweed and others, but I’m looking at this project as the first of two seamless hybrids, and the one where I get to try all of the experiments and mistakes I wish to.

All in all, though, this sweater has been a marvelous learning process. I see so much to love about it, too, even with my imperfections and mistakes and odd creases and inability to convince someone that they don’t want what they think they want. I’d still like to make it over in a tweed, but I’ll do that someday.

Coming soon – a review of the Maker Faire!

5 Responses to “Soclose”

  1. rachel Says:

    What a great sweater! I love that unexpected flash of blue.

    You know it’s never too late to add some length to the bottom — moms do it because kids tend to grow a lot more in height than width. You would just have to unpick the bottom edge and put your live stitches on a needle.

  2. Kathleen Says:

    Great job! I haven’t done a top down project before, but I think you may have inspired me.

  3. Kristen Says:

    Rachel, thanks for the advice! I hadn’t thought of that. I think I’m going to leave this one be, because I’m lazy, but that’s good to know with the sweaters I’ve made for my kids.

    Kathleen, the seamless hybrid is bottom up, and I’m finding advantages and disadvantages to both methods. They’re both very satisfying, though, and the summer blouse I’m working on now is top down, and I really like seeing the actual garment emerge so quickly. This seamless thing is fun.

  4. Jen the Knittingspaz Says:

    Your husband’s sweater looks great! I hope you’ve finished it now…

    I just bound off for a seamless hybrid sweater myself, and had to make a modification across the yoke because it was fitting a bit strange on my husband. He has broad shoulders, so I was surprised to think that it looked a bit baggy in the shoulders. A closer look suggested to me that there were far too many rows across the saddles than there were for stitches across the backs and fronts causing a bit of poufing where the saddles are. I figured that it’s because usually there are about 4 rows for every 3 stitches, but with this construction EZ has you knitting 2 rows for every stitch – more rows than you need. Did I do this wrong, or did you notice something similar but it came out in the blocking?

  5. Kristen Says:

    Jen, sorry – I’m slow on the uptake. My husband doesn’t have super broad shoulders, but any weirdness in the fit was taken away when I blocked it. I made the sleeves a little smaller than EZ would have you do with the formula, so it may be that my saddles are likewise a little smaller. It doesn’t sound to me like you did it wrong. Did blocking help?

Leave a Reply

