Summer

I want to eat green and gold. When I saw this stunner of a shrug at CosmicPluto‘s blog, I think my mouth actually watered. There are certain colors that become more appealing in season, and right now all I want is an enormous mess of yarn that mimics the rolling greens and golds of the trees that line the canyons and hills. I drive along the highway and imagine colorways of tender new grass, summery forests, the strawlike weeds on the pastures.

As many of you know, we at Kninja headquarters tend to be bargain hunters by nature. Posh yarns are not purchased unless we can point gloatingly at the price tag and show you the fantastic deal we got. We do not buy expensive yarns.

But I’m willing to make an exception to that rule. I’m on a hunt for the perfect yarn. When I find it – that green that I’m looking for – I will buy it. Even if it comes in skeins that cost more than $20 apiece. I’ll only buy one, but I am going to have that green.

In the meantime, I did have a successful bargain hunt. I got a pack of RYC Classic Soft Tweed in Twig, which will be most of the body of Willow from Rowan’s A Yorkshire Fable. I really do need a decent winter coat, and I like how that one looks. Kim Hargreaves’ tendency to reuse names of her designs meant that my search for a finished Willow was confounded, though, because she designed another Willow in Ribbon Twist which seems to be a more popular knit. I’m excited about the Soft Tweed. I’ve heard only good things about its squishiness and softness, and a thick wool/silk blend sounds really luxurious. I’ll be getting a skein or two of the same yarn in Bark for the accents. I also bought a pack of Rowanspun 4 ply in Jade. I can’t get enough of Rowan’s 4 ply tweeds.

The seamless hybrid is currently drying on the floor of our bedroom. I love blocking so so so much. The crease on the chest disappeared entirely as soon as the sweater submerged and all of my stitches look so even now. I think the stretching is going well, too. We’ll see when Mr. Kninja tries it on for the modeling session. It just feels good to look at a blocking knit and know you made it.

I should have a bunch of pictures of finished items for you soon. I’m on a bit of a sunshine induced kick of production and overproduction. I can’t seem to quit starting new projects, but all of the projects I’ve started seem to be going fast.

The compulsion to create and the desire for certain sensations is heightened when I’m drunk off of light. I want textures, colors, and beauty in a way that is subdued and less manic in winter, even our wimpy California winters. Summer’s here and all I want is to run wild in the open air – but with needles and sweater in tow.

2 Responses to “Summer”

  1. Elin Says:

    I agree, that green is absolutely gorgeous. I love green, mmmmm… I seem to be drawn to red lately though, I was looking through my yarn yesterday and it all seems to be various shades of red!

  2. Kathleen Says:

    That really is a gorgeous shade of green. Green has long been a colour I am drawn to, but I can’t find any yarn in that vivid a green here. I could see a chunky cabled jacket in something like that.

Leave a Reply

