Arthemis

Pattern: my own (Arthemis)
Yarn: Rowan Cotton Glace (Main color: Delight [discontinued], Accents: Blood Orange)
Yardage: Delight: 5 and a half skeins, 687 yards; Blood Orange: less than one skein, about 32 yards
Needles: size 4 Bryspun Flexible 29″ Circulars

Surprise! I’ve never had a project whiz by so fast. I never mentioned it because it was done by the time I had a chance to write. You may remember my unhappy Vintage Knits camisole. I unraveled it and had a pile of Cotton Glace just sitting around. Two weekends ago, on a whim, and out of a desire to make room in my yarn cabinet, I cast on for a tee shirt. I’d recently bought Barbara Walker’s Knitting from the Top and this seemed a perfect opportunity to try her methods.

It was. Arthemis (named for a red-spotted purple butterfly) was a very quick and fun knit, and now I have an eminently wearable summer top and a space for more yarn in my cabinet. I used as much yarn as I had left, which is why the garment isn’t longer than it is. That’s my only real complaint – I’d have liked something that hit a little further down on my hips, but still, it’s not too short, and I really like it.

The lace edging is a bit of a happy accident. I adapted a pretty leaf pattern from A Treasury of Knitting Patterns and ran out of yarn before I’d done as many repeats as I intended. As it stands, I love what it looks like, and I love it much more than I would have had I done what I originally intended.

Other nice little surprises along the way include what happened with the darts. I took Barabara Walker’s advice and used darts for shaping, something I’ve never done before. I love it. I placed the waist a little higher than my natural waist, which is what causes the little flair at the bottom of the garment.

The yarn, having been used before (and treated very roughly) is not entirely without wrinkles and kinks, and the color is very uneven. It doesn’t really show in the pictures, but there’s a very stripy effect in real life. I don’t actually care. Cotton Glace wears well, and I suspect that exposure to sun and a few washings will even out the color a good bit. Besides that, it’s very rewarding to see the leftover yarn that I had no real plans for made into a wardrobe staple. Uneven color is the least of my concerns.

The raglan shoulder is done with eyelets, which I thought would be a nice reflection of the lace I intended for the bottom. I have liked the look on other raglan tops, but I hadn’t seen it done specifically with a smallish gauge cotton yarn. I think it’s my favorite method of increase for a girly raglan. It’s subtle, but the little peeks of skin are irresistible.

A few last looks. A pattern will be available in time.

8 Responses to “Arthemis”

  1. sambau Says:

    It looks gorgeous! I like it very much, and a color

  2. Ann Says:

    Oh my, that is simply beautiful! I had been thinking of making a raglan, cap-sleeved shell with contrast trim with my RYC Bamboo… yours is so much prettier than the one I’m knitting in my mind! But hey, I’ve got some Cotton Glace lying around too so maybe I’ll wait for your pattern 🙂

  3. Cee/Expat knits Says:

    I like it! The darts look good, and the lace detail is very cute.

  4. Maribeth Says:

    This is the first time that I’ve visited your blog (thanks to fancie-pants (I think – although it could have been sknitty…), and I am terribly impressed by the lovely Rowan tank. This is a design that many women would want to knit, I think, but as I am on the not-well-endowed side, I think that this would be particularly flattering for smaller women. The lace edging juxtaposed with the blood orange trim is quirky and eclectic. Thanks for showing!

  5. wazzuki Says:

    the tank is just delectable – love the shaping and the lace – I want to make one!

  6. superblondgirl Says:

    Gorgeous! I love the bottom trim…
    BTW, how are you? I haven’t talked to you in forever!

  7. Andrea Says:

    I like that!!!! I’ve been working on the Vintage Knits camisole for close to a year now (I posted a question about it on Craftster because I was sure there was a mistake in the pattern), and may not be inspired to finish. I was thinking of frogging and either crocheting a top or doing something else. You may have inspired me!

  8. Monnie Deignan Says:

    Hey can I use some of the insight from this blog if I provide a link back to your site?

Leave a Reply

