Addiction

It’s not as simple as D.A.R.E. makes it sound, is it?  People can get addicted to anything – a feeling, an idea, a gesture.  We have rehab for internet addiction and sex addiction and alcohol addiction.  A Google search of the words “addicted to” reveals very few illicit substances in the lineup.  Apparently we can have addictions to rubber stamps and YouTube and love.

I’m addicted to knitting.  I find myself thinking about yarn and patterns and ideas at times that may not be all that appropriate or sensible.  I cannot see someone’s sweater without mentally deconstructing it and reassembling it inch by inch.   I plan my yarn purchases carefully and before I think of what else could be done with the little bit of extra money I set aside for such things.  My hands twitch when I don’t have sticks.  Addicted.

But is addiction always a bad thing, I wonder?   I mean, it would be if I blew the grocery money on yarn and ended up on the street begging for a hit of alpaca from the shady guy with the suspiciously luxurious sweater.  I’m not doing that, though.  I’m just knitting a lot.  I tend towards the super duper extra tense end of the spectrum of relaxiness, and knitting unwinds my kinks.

I don’t know the answer, but I do know that I’ve been knitting a lot lately.

The Tomten progresses.

There’s a new Ribbed Hat, knit properly this time, for my brother in law.

I started a baby raglan.

That’s not all, actually, but it’s all I have pictures of.  The cotton glace top, which had been put on hold for a while, is back underway.  I’ve been doing a lot of holiday knitting, and I’m modifying the One Skein Wonder pattern to make my friend Christine (if you’re reading, Christine, look away now!) a pair of sleeves attached at the back, which is how she described a garment floating around in the back of her head when I asked.  It’s nearly done, and I’m ridiculously pleased with myself.  I’ve been writing up patterns.  Slowly, as I always do.  I am not one of those lickety split confident pattern writers, no sir.  I am a slow and anxious pattern writer, but I do get it done eventually.

With all these projects around me lately, I’m starting to think more about the nature of my knitting habit.  So far, though, I think this is the good kind of addiction.

2 Responses to “Addiction”

  1. Joan Says:

    I’m totally addicted to knitting, too. I’ve been known to point out to my parents that it is less dangerous than other addictions. I’ve gone so far as to say it’s less expensive than, like, crack but they don’t buy that.

  2. amanda Says:

    I think our addiction to knitting is OK as long as we don’t hurt others or ourselves from it. I haven’t quit work to knit full time yet but who knows!

    I deconstruct others’ sweaters when I see them too . . .

Leave a Reply

