Good things, disaster, and starteritis

The most beautiful green yarn, the very yarn I’ve been lusting after since the beginning of summer, showed up on my doorstep, courtesy of Blue Garter Sarah.  That’s a magnificent skein of Dream in Color Smooshy, in the Happy Forest colorway.  And it being as gorgeous as ever I imagined it, I couldn’t resist casting on right away and starting on the Clementine Shawlette from the Spring issue of Interweave Knits.

As you can see, it’s a super fast knit – this represents less than two days worth of knitting, and it’s an easy, mindless pattern in many respects once you get to the straight part, but interesting enough not to get boring.  Of course, the magnificent greens make it hard to get bored as well.  All the shaping is cleverly kept within the inner increases and decreases, which I personally have found a lot easier than shaping the outer edges.

It’s a rainy day, so the light here wasn’t the best, and my picture quality is limited.  I’m sure there will be more pictures as I progress, though.  Onward to disaster.

Willow is dead. Felted to death by her creator, she is no more.

I thought that perhaps if I cut off the button bands and collar and re-knit them, that she could be saved, but alas, there is no hope. I did cut off the button bands and the collar, as you can see, and it was then that it became obvious that the shrinking had not made the coat any less wide, though it made it shorter and placed the shoulders in a ridiculous and undignified position. They are puffy and set too far down my arms now. Even if I had mad seamstress-y skillz, I do not think I could rescue Willow.

I’ve been in a bit of a funk about this, but I’m trying to look on the bright side. I learned a lot, and I know I’d like to knit Willow again. It was a fast and fun project, and now I know all kinds of things about felting that I didn’t know before. Like, for example, don’t use it to shrink a too big sweater coat.

I have no real desire to dwell on such a sad demise, however, and wish only to say that while Willow will be missed and lamented, she is not the only knit out there.  I’ve had a spate of starteritis lately.  Besides the pink diamond wrap which you saw in a previous post, I’m still working on Nora’s Tomten, and I’ve been swatching the Cascade Luna for a scarf, and finding that it hasn’t the stitch definition for a DNA cable scarf.  I’ve tried a variety of stitch patterns, and so far nothing is jumping out at me, but I got some good advice on Ravelry and shall keep plugging away at it.

I also knit a Twitterpated purse, originally intended for self use, but now going to the growing pile of finished holiday knits.

Related challenge: finding the box in which all my fabrics are packed to make the lining.

The yarn used is a random wool acquired in a swap, and I laced just a little leftover Cotton Glace through the top, which actually enhanced the frills pretty well.  I’m a little sick of garter stitch, though, between this and the Tomten.  One can have too much of a good thing.

Here’s some more garter stitch, finished long ago, but just now photographed and ready to be sent out: the Mason Dixon baby kimono.

The bad light makes it unclear, but that’s a rich, dark red, and the buttons are a pale lime green.  I bought a ton of the lime green buttons in bulk about a year ago because I liked them so much, but this is the first time I’ve gotten to use them.  Baby is of unknown sex, so I went with colors I like rather than worrying about traditional gender roles.

Finally, I’m about ready to restart on Gabriel’s languishing sweater, but he’s picked a whole new direction for it.  After looking at pictures of various jackets online, he, with infinite taste, settled on the saddle shoulder cardigan from Wool Gathering, made net-famous by Brooklyn Tweed and Elliphantom.   I can’t say the boy lacks taste.  Since the sweater is sized for adults, and Gabriel is a tall, but not enormous eight year old boy, I decided to order a sport weight yarn rather than a worsted weight.  The yarn I had on hand for his sweater was worsted and not a pure wool, which struck me as a bad idea for steeks, so I ordered some Knitpicks Telemark in what turns out to be the exact same color as his previous choice.

Behold the Lazurite Heather.

Now I’m just waiting on the pattern, which I duly ordered from Schoolhouse Press, along with the Adult Surprise Jacket pattern.

My fingers are twitching in anticipation.

4 Responses to “Good things, disaster, and starteritis”

  1. whitknits Says:

    Oh my goodness, those greens! They’re gorgeous! I can’t wait to see the whole shawlette knit up.

    So sorry to hear about Willow! I’d be bummed, too.

    Also can’t wait to see the saddle shoulder cardigan, I think it will look really nice in that color!

  2. Irene Says:

    Love, love, love the green yarn! And as for Willow, well, tis better to have knit and lost ….

  3. Tracy Says:

    I love that green! I can’t wait to see the finished shawlette. I’ve had my eye on that pattern.

  4. Sarah Says:

    Oh good, the green Smooshy is looking scrumptious!

    Poor Willow. Do you have any seamstressy friends who might want to take shears to her, cut her down to size, and then reconstruct her in a super-cool “deconstructed” way? Because I think she’d lend herself to it in a big way.

Leave a Reply

