Ghosties and ghoulies

Pattern: Clementine Shawlette, Spring 2007 Interweave Knits
Yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy, Happy Forest colorway
Yardage: About 350 yards – I have quite a lot of yarn leftover
Needles: 3.5 mm, US size 4, random bamboo jobs I got on Ebay

The wee ones had a marvelous time carving pumpkins, and my Clementine Shawlette, less clementine than leaf, flew by. Less than two weeks on this one, and I credit the pattern (easy, but interesting) and the yarn (glorious) in making it such a quick knit.  The Dream in Color Smooshy lives up to its name.  It’s remarkably squeezable, soft and plump and wonderful, and soft as only merino can be.

I’ve never worn a shawl before, so I wasn’t sure how that would go, but the genius of this pattern is that it can be worn as a scarf as well as a shawl.  I’ve worn it out in both styles already and both were comfortable and attractive.

I suspect this wrap will serve me well in navigating the Bay Area’s micro climates.  It is an interesting fact of weather that you can go from sunny and warm to glacial in mere moments here by a change of location that is less than a few miles.

This is the terrifying apparition that appeared, courtesy of Liam, in the backyard.  I’d like to tell you that it sends a shiver down my spine and puts a chill in my bones, but the reality is that it makes me feel warm and toasty.  Perhaps it’s a friendly ghost.

All of the children have been kissing the pumpkins.  I asked why, and was told that it’s what you’re supposed to do.  Take note.

Gabriel’s pumpkin is the large red one, Liam’s is the medium sized round one, and Nora’s, seen here sleeping, is the wee babby gourd.

In the Handknits in Action category, here’s a lousy headless shot of Corinne worn by yours truly to her *gasp* ten year high school reunion.  Ten years.  I’m old, people.  Oh, and I’ve been married longer and have more kids than anyone else in my graduating class.  If I had known that marrying young would get me a gift certificate to Blockbuster, I think I would have been even more excited at the prospect.

Note the fancy shoes.  I have never owned shoes anything like these ones before.  I learned that I will not break my neck in heels, and also that I am seventy bazillion feet tall when I wear them.  And my feet hurt later.  They will be saved for special occasions, occasions on which I need to be seventy bazillion feet tall and intimidate my enemies.

High school reunions are strange.  We revert so quickly to our old roles, but with the weird perspective of a little time and distance.  As I was able to see, my high school experience boils down to me standing unhappily off to one side, thinking, “I feel so rejected by all the people I refuse to talk to!”

Ghosties and ghoulies indeed.

Thank you all so much for your responses to my thoughts on the domestic as hobby.  It’s heartening to hear about other women’s takes and experiences.

7 Responses to “Ghosties and ghoulies”

  1. Expat knits Says:

    The shawlette is very cute. And I LOVE the dress! The shoes – I’m impressed you managed to walk at all…

  2. kae Says:

    The outfit is stunning! And your pumpkins are making me jealous – we don’t do Halloween here in Australia and it looks like i’m missing out on a whole heap of fun!!

  3. Kathleen Says:

    I love Liam’s ghost, and am very impressed by the pumpkins.

    And of course, your beautiful shawl! I just love that the yarn is called Smooshy. You look stunning in your dress, btw.

  4. Sarah Says:

    Corinne gets a hubba-hubba – I’m damn sure none of the other mommies were looking that svelte! And those really are warrior princess shoes.

    I’m so tickled by Liam’s toasty ghost and the monster pumpkin array. I need to carve my two little ones tomorrow evening, and at this rate I think they’ll just be Miyazaki-inflected little forest spirits.

    Finally, a big huzzah to juicy green Clementine! What a pleasure to see yarn gifties so swiftly and beautifully put to use. (Pssst…they got some Chinatown Apple in – interested?)

  5. whitknits Says:

    That shawlette is just the prettiest thing ever. I love that green. I’m going to have to find myself some Smooshy in that color.

  6. Ellen Says:

    I love the green yarn! I’ve only just started exploring my crafty side, and it’s amazing how strong the pull of yarn and fabric can be. I hope I’m someday an accomplished enough knitter to do something as rich looking as your shawl.

  7. Kate Says:

    It looks great! I’m glad to see our little Starbucks interlude didn’t throw you off your stride.

    Also, I’m sad to hear the reunion didn’t go as well as you were hoping — at least you have the consolation of knowing you looked fabulous in something you made yourself?

Leave a Reply

