Happy New Year – here’s a pattern

So it’s a new year, which means it’s five days until I hit the last year of my twenties. I’m not terribly impressed with the idea of turning 29. It just sounds so fake, even faker than 28 did. I want to hit 30 and just commit to it, instead of lingering at this age that no one will believe.

Anyway, I have owed you all a pattern for a good long time, and like the nice people you are, you’ve been uncomplaining, though I’ve had the occasional nudge to remind me to finish. So here, for the new year, is the pattern for Arthemis, and I’m working on the pattern for the Erin Shrug as well.

I originally started writing this pattern in the usual range of sizes, but as I was writing it up, it hit me that I was destroying the very thing that makes a top down raglan special – the ability to customize to body type. Sure, I could write up just what I did and size up and down, but that assumes that everyone has the same basic shape as I do, and it’s not useful. So instead of a standard pattern, I wrote this up as more a recipe to customize to your own shape. The pattern for the sleeves, collar, and lace edge match the ones in my picture, and I think I’ve explained pretty well how to place the darts, but if you have trouble, please let me know and I’ll do my best to help. As always, I’d love to see it if you knit it, and I definitely want to hear about mistakes I’ve made in writing it up so that I can correct them.

Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Happy New Year – here’s a pattern”

  1. Cyn Says:

    Hee! “I’m 29.” “Yeah, suuure you are…”

    I just turned 26 and I’m cranky about it, but I guess it at least sounds like a real age.

  2. ann Says:

    You’re a star for writing up this lovely pattern! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

