Writing my memoirs – briefly

I got tagged for a really neat meme by Michaela at Dollar Knits.

My six word memoir: With care for words and people.

This was really hard to do, actually. I considered putting people first, because I do care deeply about people, but I decided that my shyness and social anxieties sometimes prevent me from putting people up front the way I want to. I always worry about words, though – my words, the words of others, and what words mean. It’s what is and what I hope will be and what’s wrong and what’s right all in one place. The picture is a segment of a self portrait I did in art school. It’s slightly larger than life size, done in acrylic, and the odd expression on my face is due to standing in a dark-ish basement night after night, staring at the mirror I’d taped to the wall, and trying to remember what I looked like before I turned back to apply paint to paper. The paper itself has a collage of images and leaves (actual leaves) covered over with gesso. I also have a less successful portrait under the gesso. I’d planned to wipe it out entirely, but found that I liked it as it became ghostly, so my own ghostly face is staring over my shoulder. I darkened that side of the picture by writing all of the bad poetry I’d written that year on that side. While this portrait is over 10 years old, I still think it represents me pretty well – what’s embarrassing and silly and sincere and startled about me.

This NPR story inspired the meme, and here are the guidelines:

Here are the guidelines, should you choose to participate in this yourself:

  • Write your own six word memoir.
  • Post it on your blog and include a visual illustration if you’d like.
  • Link to the person that tagged you in your post and to this original post if possible so we can track it as it travels across the blogosphere.
  • Tag five more blogs with links.

I hereby tag the following folks:

Orata
Ellen
Giff
Cirilia
Amanda

I can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with! I wish mine was funnier – maybe next week!

5 Responses to “Writing my memoirs – briefly”

  1. Amanda Says:

    I was only going to comment that I love your portrait, and I find out I am tagged too! This should be fun.

  2. Michaela Says:

    I love it!!! Your portrait is amazing! My self portraits in art school didn’t look anything like me. I guess that’s why I decided to go into communications!

  3. Meme (me, me!) « Feather and Fan Says:

    […] springtime, striped, the water is wide I’ve been tagged for two memes–I’ll do Kristen’s first, because I’ve been thinking about it for a […]

  4. Ellen Says:

    I’m going to have to post now! I’m late, but I’ll get there.

  5. Adventures in Domesticity Says:

    Six Word Memoir…

    Kristen the Knitting Kninja tagged me to write my memoirs…in six words. I fumbled around for a while, trying to come up with something profound and counting on my fingers all at once. I realized, though, that a lot about…

Leave a Reply

