Yarnmeme, yo

Orata‘s had some nifty memes on her site of late, and I decided to tag myself, just because. So there.

First off, the yarnmeme, because I like thinking things through, like what I like and why. And maybe this will be useful to someone else – I’ve found use in the ones I’ve read so far!

Out of the top 50 yarns on Ravelry (by number of projects):
Bold the ones you’ve used and would use again,
Cross out the ones you’ve used and would not use again,
and italicize the ones you’ve never tried, but would like to.
Add comments as desired, and then pass the meme along to 5 knitters/crocheters.
Link back to this post and to the person who tagged you. (We rebel self-taggers will have to forgo that last bit.)

1, Cascade 220 Wool, 11967 projects – I’ve come late to Cascade 220, but I really do like it. It’s a good price for a good yarn, and it comes in a lot of colors. It’s good for felting and not too harsh for clothing. Not a favorite, but a definitely useful and good yarn, and I expect to use it again.
2, Patons Classic Wool Merino, 10445 projects
3, Malabrigo Yarn Merino Worsted, 8421 projects – I’m having a bit of a thing with Malabrigo at the moment. I tried Manos first and found it beautiful, but rather scratchy, and since I’d only seen Malabrigo in photographs, I’d sort of assumed it was the same basic stuff. So I was stunned when I actually felt a Malabrigo swatch and it was so soft. Despite the pilling and stretching that come with this softness, I think Malabrigo is one of the best deals around. The $10-$11 a skein price can seem hefty until you look at the yardage.
4, Noro Kureyon, 7947 projects – I haven’t yet tried Noro, and having felt it, I’m not in a rush, but I think I’ll have to give it a shot at some point. Some of the colors are nice, and while I’m not a huge fan of variegated yarns, I’ve seen a few patterns that really show it off well. (Like a zip-up jacket in So Simple Crochet. Lovely.)
5,
Caron Simply Soft, 7914 projects – It seems like a very soft acrylic and a great value, too. I favor natural fibers, but acrylic has its place, and this seems like one to try.
6, Lily Sugar’n Cream Solid, 6864 projects – Great for dishcloths.
7, Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Worsted, 6619 projects – I can’t believe I still haven’t gotten around to trying this one. It’s called for in, like, every felt project I want to try. I imagine it’s a little hairy, but I’d definitely like to try it out.
8,
Red Heart Ltd. Super Saver Solids, 6176 projects – Squeaky, and, it doesn’t wear well. I started a weird blanket with this way way back when, and the yarn just got ickier as I went along. Liam has some bright purple mittens in Red Heart, and they serve their purpose (that of being bright purple mittens) but I don’t like how they feel.
9, Lion Brand Wool-Ease Solid, 5554 projects – I will need to be more careful washing Wool-Ease in future, because it doesn’t wear well if washed on anything other than the gentle cycle, but I like it as a basic kids’ stuff yarn. It comes in pretty colors, costs very little, and with care it can wear well.
10, Noro Silk Garden, 5410 projects – I really, really want to try this yarn. It sounds luscious, and some of the more subtle color palettes are irresistible.
11, Koigu Painter’s Palette Premium Merino (KPPPM), 5094 projects – I haven’t used much Koigu, but I love it. There’s a skein sitting in my stash at the moment, waiting to be turned into half a pair of Endpaper Mitts. It’s soft, lofty, and it wears well. Good stuff. The price is a bit steep, though, to my mind.
12, Knit Picks Wool of the Andes, 5071 projects – I have used Telemark, which is basically the same thing. Good price, and a good yarn for the price, though scratchier than more expensive wools, if I go by Telemark.
13
, Lion Brand Homespun, 4296 projects – Yeah, it’s awful stuff, but it’s soft and comes in pretty colors. I’ve used it for baby blankets and slippers, and while I don’t like knitting or crocheting with it, I’ll likely use it again sometime for a gift. It’s good for gifts.
14, Lion Brand Cotton-Ease, 4157 projects – Lovely colors, and it looks like it holds up pretty well from other people’s projects.
15,
Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock Multi, 4086 projects – Great colors, and I hear it knits up well.
16, Manos del Uruguay 100% Wool, 3989 projects –
I wouldn’t use it for anything to go directly against my skin, but it’s truly gorgeous stuff, and I want to try it again. I felted my own hands when I felted some of it in the sink, so I will only felt it in the machine in future.
17, Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride Bulky , 3927 projects – Again with the felting.
18,
Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran, 3751 projects
19,
Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock – Lightweight, 3723 projects – I want to try the Ravenclan colors. I have plans for a Ravenclan baby outfit.
20, Plymouth Encore Worsted, 3573 projects
21, Cascade 220 Heathers, 3422 projects – I love heathered yarns, and I like Cascade 220, so it seems worth a try.
22, Lily Sugar’n Cream Ombres & Prints, 3384 projects
23,
Zitron Trekking (XXL), 3348 projects – I hear it’s good, and the new handpainted skeins are really gorgeous.
25,
Rowan Kidsilk Haze, 3203 projects – I’ve used Kidsilk Night and liked it. Very fine, but the mohair is softer than mohair sometimes is, and it comes in such nice colors.
26,
Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino, 2917 projects
27, Pisgah Yarn & Dyeing Co., Inc Peaches & Creme Ombres, 2658 projects
28, Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece, 2512 projects – Seems like a good price, and it’s used in a lot of nice Spring and Summer patterns.
29,
Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock – Mediumweight, 2503 projects
30, Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick & Quick, 2489 projects
– See Wool-Ease.
31, Pisgah Yarn & Dyeing Co., Inc Peaches & Creme Solids, 2476 projects
32,
Cascade 220 Superwash, 2323 projects
33, Berroco Ultra Alpaca, 2286 projects
34, Knit Picks Swish Superwash, 2226 projects
35,
Knit Picks Essential, 2149 projects
36,
Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice Solid, 2142 projects
37, Colinette Jitterbug, 2090 projects – I’d use it again, but I do have some reservations. The colorways are gorgeous, but at least for some of them, the right pattern is needed to make them work. I went through five different projects before finding one that worked for my blue and brown colorway. I like the yarn, though, and find it really beautiful now that I figured out how to use it.
39,
Knit Picks Shine Sport, 1976 projects – Great price for kids’ stuff.
40, Dale of Norway/Dalegarn Baby Ull, 1885 projects
41,
Lion Brand Microspun, 1871 projects – Very soft, but so so splitty, and kind of irritating to work with. It served my purpose very well, but I hated using it so much that I gave away everything I had left and swore off it for life.
42,
Cherry Tree Hill Supersock Merino, 1863 projects – I’ve heard good things about Cherry Tree Hill, and the colors are nice.
43, Knit Picks Palette, 1765 projects – I want to try some of the heathers.
44,
South West Trading Company TOFUtsies, 1762 projects
45,
Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool, 1756 projects – I like silk, I like wool, I like tweed, and I’ve seen some nice projects worked in this yarn.
46,
Mission Falls 1824 Wool, 1725 projects – I’ve heard this works up well, but the price and the yardage irritate me.
47
, Rowan RYC Cashsoft DK, 1718 projects – I like Rowan and basically want to try most of their yarns.
48,
Red Heart Ltd. Super Saver Multis/Ombres, 1664 projects
49, Rowan Felted Tweed, 1646 projects –
I’ve used it a grand total of once, but I can’t wait to use it again. One of my all time favorite yarns.
50, Rowan Calmer, 1571 projects – I wouldn’t have much interest in this yarn – it’s not made of materials I’m that interested in, it’s not a weight I feel strongly about, and it has fewer colors I like than most Rowan yarns – except that everyone I know who’s used it has raved. I need to see what the fuss is about.

And finally, just a reminder that the Autism Awareness Month drive is ongoing. I’ve received one entry so far, so entrant, you’re winning. 😉 Remember, any amount will do for an entry. If you can spare $2, it’s $2 toward a worthy cause. Thanks, guys!

3 Responses to “Yarnmeme, yo”

  1. elasticwaistbandlady Says:

    Knitting is really out of my element. The best effort I can manage with my uncoordinated self is beginner level latch-hook projects.

    There’s a local group that goes out and performs random acts of knittiness around the city. They leave various knitted items at people’s door or hand them out to strangers on the street. The group name? Knittas, Please!
    Greatest name for a rogue knitting club ever.

  2. orata Says:

    I’m glad you tagged yourself! I love reading through people’s answers. You MUST try Calmer. It’s so stretchy yet soft and lovely to knit with. If you want some scraps of Lamb’s Pride, I could mail you some–I’ll be formally destashing some Calmer and LP later on, too.

    Will you tag 5 more for the meme?

  3. Nancy McCarroll Says:

    Hi. I used your example of split complementary colors in my post today and referred back to your website. Thank you for the kind use of that pretty purple swatch! It was a good example. Nancy

Leave a Reply

