Me me!

The Lady tagged me for a meme, and I’m currently procrastinating, so it’s a welcome distraction from actual work. Yay! Thank you, The Lady! I am most appreciative.

“The rules of the game get posted at the beginning. Each player answers the questions about themselves. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog. Let the person who tagged you know when you’ve posted your answer.”

1) What was I doing 10 years ago?

Gosh, ten years ago. OK, let’s see. It’s June now. Ten years ago, I had just gone back home for the summer after my freshman year at art school. I had a good friend I left back in Baltimore. They held the graduation after the term ended, and I didn’t get to go to his, but we ended up writing to each other every day, either by email or with illustrated letters. In August, I would go back to Baltimore and start dating that friend, and then we’d have our massively out of order courtship of baby, marriage, and eventually more babies. But ten years ago, I didn’t see any of that on the horizon. He was my best friend at school, and I was missing him. And it was very weird to be back in Southern California, where everything suddenly seemed unfamiliar. June was also the month my mother got married ten years ago. (Happy anniversary, Mom!)

2) What are 5 things on my to-do list for today?

There are only 45 minutes left of today as I type this, and I’m not sure I have five things left to do. I’ll make an effort. I want to make one more mock up for a graphic design job I have. I want to move Eleanor, because she fell asleep on the couch in the living room, and I haven’t had the heart to move her yet. I want to change into PJs and brush my teeth. I want to read for a short time. And I want to get to sleep earlier than I actually will.

3) Snacks I enjoy:

I’ve been snacking on cheese as I sit here. I love cheese. Mostly soft cheeses, but really, most any good cheese will do. I’ve always thought of myself as having a sweet tooth, and I suppose I do, but in truth, I’ve been tending toward savory snacks lately, and I realize that even the sweets I like must not be too sweet. I prefer bittersweet chocolate to milk, and I can’t drink most sodas because they just taste too syrupy. I’m a big snacker, though. I like to make trays with a wide variety of little treats. I often like romaine hearts with a little dressing to dip them in, cheese, nuts, some kind of fruit, and maybe a pickle or a mushroom marinated with garlic. Olives are also much in favor. Pretzels are good, and wheat crackers. Now I’m hungry.

4) Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

Oh man. This is hard. Well, I want to sound all generous and kind, but the very first thing I’d do, were I to become a billionaire overnight, would be to pay off all our medical debts, and any other debts we’ve got. And then I think I might indulge in a good bit of small spending, just because I could. I’d make sure all our needs were met, and I’d probably buy a house. And I would look into various charities, but I think if I’m honest, those would come after my crazy shopping spree. I hate shopping, though, so I don’t think it would be a long lived shopping spree. I would have a mad stash, though. I have a lot of charities I’d like to give a chunk to, so I’d spend some time figuring that out, and then I think I’d try to set up some kind of scholarship. Oh, and of course stash a large chunk of money away for retirement, and a chunk for the kids’ college educations, and a chunk for emergencies.

5) Places I have lived:

Los Angeles, CA
Altadena, CA
La Cañada, CA
La Crescenta, CA
Baltimore, MD
Oakland, CA
San Jose, CA
Albany, CA

6) Jobs I have had:

I haven’t had a lot of jobs. My first job was at a florist, and then I worked at a book and toy store throughout the rest of high school. In college, I worked at the front desk of the student apartments. I lived off campus by then, though. And then I got myself knocked up in my sophomore year, dropped out, and moved out to California to live in sin. I’ve been a stay at home mom ever since, though I’ve done a number of freelance jobs in that time. I write, and I occasionally get something published. I’ve also done some graphic design work, and the occasional illustration. But most of my work has been on a volunteer basis. I’ve never had a steady job in my adult life, which sounds pretty bad when I just blurt it out like that. Ah, well.

7) Bloggers I am tagging who I will enjoy getting to know better:

Philippa

Sabrina

Whitney

Irene

Expat

3 Responses to “Me me!”

  1. the Lady Says:

    Whoo, living in sin! That’s pretty cool it’s with your best friend.

  2. Philippa Says:

    Well, don’t you sound lovely? If you lived nearer I would invite myself round for tea, but as it is, I’ll eat some celery and cream cheese and think of you. (My mum used to fill the sticks with cream cheese and then cut them into short lengths, then cut a triangle out of rice paper and stick it into the celery with a cocktail stick to make little boats with sails, and your platter of healthy snacks reminded me of them!). Your love story is so great, it has brought a huge smile to my face. X

  3. whitney Says:

    I’m with you on the not wanting my sweets to be too sweet thing. I have a very low threshold for what qualifies as “sweet”, and anything above it I find sort of sickening.

Leave a Reply

