Much better!

Thank you all so much for your well wishes, offers of help, and general kindness. I promise to reply to each and every one of you soon, but I’m a little worn out today, so it may be a few days.

Eleanor’s appointment went well, though she was tired and stroppy and generally rude.  I suppose that in a way that was a good sign.  Anyway, her lungs sounded pretty clear and her treatments have been stretched out to every four hours.  The doctor I saw yesterday said she thinks it was likely a mucus clot in her lung, and that it blocked everything up for a while, which would make sense, as the first doctor she saw noticed that there was one spot that seemed to be more blocked than the rest.  Either the clot is broken up or it is on the move, because she’s nearly back to normal, save for a cough (good – can get mucus out of the lungs), some slight wheezing, and total insanity from the various medications she’s on.  Luckily, she’s generally a fairly calm child, so insanity in her is not too bad.

Unfortunately, I’m the sick one now, which isn’t a big suprise, since I was under the weather to begin with, and then went through all of that stress and adrenaline.  (Etymology break: Apparently it’s adrenaline in Britain and epinephrine in the States, but I’ve only ever heard it referred to as adrenaline by anyone who isn’t involved in the science of the human body.  I’m not sure why the distinction.)  Anyway, I’m taking it easy for a while and luckily, Nora’s being pretty self sufficient and playing with just the right amount of activity.  Too little, and a clot could form again, too much and she’ll exhaust herself and risks other complications.

I’m going to eat a little and lie down.  Even knitting is making me tired, so I’ve got a project that is on larger needles to work on, because that seems to be a little easier.  It’s boring to lie there and do nothing.  I’ll probably rent a trashy, but kid appropriate, movie as well, and just veg today.  Thank you so much for all of your good thoughts and words.  They are truly appreciated.

4 Responses to “Much better!”

  1. emily Says:

    hey, I’ll take rude over not breathing any day : )
    glad to hear she’s doing well.

  2. Casey Says:

    I’m so glad she’s doing well! Now go get some rest, mama.

  3. amanda Says:

    Kristin, so sorry you have been through all this. Glad she is doing better, and best wishes for a speedy, complete recovery!!!

  4. Philippa Says:

    How are you all now? x

Leave a Reply

