September!

Perpetual motion machine.

Perpetual motion machine.

The boys are back in school, the pumpkins are ripening, and we’re heading into weather that really warrants knitwear.  Sweet onion chutney in the morning – it’s good to be heading into autumn!  Summer is all very well and good, but it’s nice to get back into the regular routine.

I have a couple of knitting projects for to show you.  Nothing too exciting, but stuff, nonetheless.  Both of them are actually projects started long ago, and only rediscovered as I was cleaning up.

The first is a One Skein Wonder I made for Eleanor out of some Cascade 220 she took a liking to.  I modified the pattern to add what will be three quarter length sleeves when she grows a little, and added a little eyelet pattern (taken from the Baby Bolero in One Skein) to the back, and of course, it was very much modified for size.  The nearly finished object lay dormant until I found it last month and finally put the ribbed edge on.   I thought a plain shrug would be useful for wearing over dresses when it cools off.  I finally convinced the young lady to model for me.  As you can see, she is a paragon of ladylike modesty and gentleness.

Shrug this!

Shrug this!

Ah yes.  Truly a woman of discreet charm.

See the eyelet pattern.  See the eyelet pattern eyelet.  Eyelet, pattern, eyelet.

See the eyelet pattern. See the eyelet pattern eyelet. Eyelet, pattern, eyelet.

Of course, a true lady must be multi faceted.  Here, Eleanor demonstrates the proper method of either smashing a parsnip with her bare hand, or dancing the Watusi.  I’m not sure which.

Fear me!

I've got the mad skillz.

At the end of the day, there are plenty of reasons for her to feel good about herself.

Really, Im very sweet.

Really, I'm very sweet. And definitely not a ninja.

The other project discovered in my exploration was a Scholar Collar I made for Mr. Kninja some time last year.  Clearly, there’s nothing innovative or original in my knitting here, but it’s a finished object I’m very happy with.  The yarn is Lion Brand Wool-Ease doubled with recycled mohair that I got by deconstructing a thrift store sweater.  The result is very green and very warm.  The buttons are some hand made ceramic dealies I bought at a knitting shop in San Jose ages ago.  It looks very handsome on Mr. Kninja, and I look forward to the weather cooling off enough for him to wear it.

I am collar, plain and tall.

I am collar, plain and tall.

My fuzzy revolution will not hurt you.

My fuzzy revolution will not hurt you.

I hope your autumn knitting is underway and going well!

7 Responses to “September!”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Awesome. Photoshoot. Awesome. I believe the crown of Knitwear Boogie Queen (U10 division) may just have passed to Miss Eleanor.

  2. the Lady Says:

    I love those colors on Eleanor – that orange just glows! (In a fantastic way.) You’re lucky your man will wear a color other than black. Lovely knits!

  3. whitney Says:

    Eleanor looks adorable in her One Skein Wonder…she’s got good taste, because that’s a great color for her!

  4. amanda Says:

    Eleanor looks dashing in her handknits – love the color combo!

  5. Amanda Says:

    Oh my, she is one cute kiddo! I love the color combo as well!

  6. merete Says:

    lovely little girl and great seventies colour combo. she is a cutie and i love that name.

  7. knitwithit Says:

    She is so cute! I love her scary face. 🙂

Leave a Reply

