Unfaithful

If anything, my starteritis has gotten worse as the months have worn on.  I’ve had such noble intent to stay true to a few projects, but a quick glance around my living room tells me that my cheating heart cannot be satisfied by one or two projects.  Here’s a tally of the UFOs currently docking in my home.

1.  The Sweetheart Socks.  I’m about 30% of the way through the second sock.  I love how they look.  The finished sock fits perfectly.  I hate knitting these things.  SO much.  I avoid it at all costs.  The pattern is genius, but too much for a non sock knitter, I think.  I should have picked something else to start my sock career on.

2.  Generic socks.  I started these for Daniel some time ago.  I’m about 50% through the second sock.  It wouldn’t take me long to actually finish them up, but there are so many things I’d rather do than knit socks.  I’m sure I’ll get to it soonish, but in the meantime, it just stares at me accusingly.

3.  The random lace thing.  I made up a lace motif, and then spent some time figuring out what yarn it worked best in.  Then I set about designing a scarf with the motif, intended to be half of a scarf/shawl pattern.  I put the lace thing aside a month or two ago and haven’t picked it up since.

4.  The other random lace thing.  I couldn’t find an appropriately portable project when we were going to the park last week, so I grabbed an extra skein of lace weight yarn and a vintage stitch dictionary that smells oddly of the past and mildew and started a repeat tulip pattern, just to see what it would look like.  I’m not particularly commited to it, but I haven’t unraveled it either.

5.  The present for Mom.  She reads here sometimes, so I won’t say what it is, but it’s one of the projects I’ve actually been working on fairly steadily of late.  It’s been my portable project most of the time, but I couldn’t find it when it was time to go to the park.  I’m about a third of the way through with it.

6.  Gabriel’s jacket.  The poor thing’s been started and frogged half a dozen times now.  I finally did what I should have done from the start and actually read Jared’s notes on the Saddle Shoulder Aran.  Then I made a better swatch than I’d originally done, and now I’m hopeful that the sweater will actually work out.  But after so many failed attempts, I’m a little gun shy now, and the swatch made me realize that I need to rewrite a couple of my cable charts, since it’s easier when the cabling happens on the same row for each cable.  So I’m taking a short break from all things super cabley and saddle shouldery.

7.  Daniel’s sweater.  This one may be the oldest UFO in the apartment.  I started it ages ago, cocky from having finished the Seamless Hybrid, and not thinking that it might be unwise to make an entire man sized sweater in yarn that is basically a heavy lace weight.  (I’m getting 7 stitches to the inch on size 3 needles, which puts me right between fingering and lace weight.  Yay.)  There’s nothing super difficult about this sweater, but each round takes so long and the yarn is so thin that I find my mind going numb after just a few rounds.  I work on it a while, then set it down a while, and it grows slowly, but does grow.

8.  My sweater of pure hotness.  This is the one I’m actually passionate about at the moment, but it feels greedy to work on something for me when I have so many projects for other people that are languishing unfinished.  I’m making the Transparency Sweater from Sensual Knits.  It’s very fast and easy knitting…the yarn moves quickly and smoothly despite the mohair content…and it feels and looks so good that I can’t wait to finish it.  I’m most of the way through the body of the sweater, but have yet to start the sleeves, which I suspect may take a while.

9. Skirt!  The beautiful Lacy Skirt with Bows from Greetings from Knit Cafe.  Started partially because I really do need a new skirt, partially because I’ve been wanting to knit it for ages, and mostly because I had the sudden inspiration that the cotton yarn I’d gotten by ripping apart a thrift store turtleneck was perfect for this project.  It is, and since the thing is mostly stockinette, it’s going pretty fast, but the main section is knit on size five circulars, and my size fives were inherited from my grandmother and have that unpleasant quality of old circulars where they sort of catch the yarn where the needles join the length of plastic between them.  I may transfer it to straight needles.

10. Potholder doormat.  Taken directly from Mason Dixon Knitting.  My kids and I looped together a bunch of those little loops you make into woven potholders, and I’ve been knitting them into a doormat.  It’s easy in one sense, but a pain in the rear in another.  It’s on size 15 needles, and it hurts my hands.  I do a little at a time before I get bored and sore and put it down.  I think it’ll be useful, but ugly.  On the other hand, the kids had a blast stringing those loops together, and that’s what I intended.

11.  Alpaca Aran Sweater.  My McQueen Knockoff, which has gone through some heartbreaking moments, and which I thought at one time I’d have to unravel.  I reblocked it, and now it seems like it should fit, if only I’d go ahead and make the sleeves.  I probably should make them, but I’m a little anxious since I had so much stretching with the body.  I may make them on smaller needles.  I’m a little worried that they won’t match the body then, but since I reblocked the body to a smaller size, I think it should work out.

12.  Cotton Kimono Top.  My cotton glace mess.  It might turn out great, it might turn out terribly.  Either way, I’ve had very little desire to work on it.  I think frogging the whole thing might be wise, because when you lose interest entirely in a project, there’s not much point in going on.  Then I’d have a mess of gorgeous deep orange cotton to play with, and that would be cool.

13.  The mohair thing.  Gorgeous handpainted mohair, a gift of a couple of Christmases ago.  I’ve tried and failed to make something nice out of it a number of times.  Then I struck upon a lace pattern that worked with it, put it aside, and have rarely picked it up since.  I think it might work best as a carrying yarn paired with a nice smooth turquoise merino, and will probably unravel the lace thing.

14.  The wool beret.  Started ages ago for Nora.  It looks stupid, and it isn’t the best wool for a beret.  I haven’t unraveled it, though, thinking, I guess, that something that’s almost finished shouldn’t be unraveled.  I was wrong in that.  I will unravel it and make it into something useful.

15.  The cat.  I started a stuffed cat toy for Nora some time back and found that I really do prefer knitting on needles that are not teeny and double pointed.  Using size two needles with worsted weight yarn is hard on the hands.  I do intend to finish the cat, though.  I need to buy more stuffing first.
I think that’s everything.  Shameful, I know.  It could be worse, of course, but it’s probably bad enough as it is.  And I’ll tell you a secret.  I’ve been hankering all yesterday and today to cast on for some mittens.  Eep.

3 Responses to “Unfaithful”

  1. the Lady Says:

    I will give you some unsolicited suggestions.

    First work on what you really want to work on, maybe you’ll finish it, and then be all high from that, and very pleased with yourself. Just ignore the other stuff while you have fun.

    Then rip what you can bring yourself to rip. It sounds like there are at least 5 projects that could stand to be just skeins again.

    And then – audiobooks! And knitting groups! They are both fabulous for getting done those types of projects that you’re not really enthusiastic about (a second sock, for me) but that you do actually want to finish. I find that with a knitting group, at least I’ll work on something every week, and it gets done eventually. And if you’re listening to an audiobook or a really good podcast, the hands go on automatic and you’re knitting or spinning along just fine.

    And console yourself about ripping – I just ripped out half a mitten, because I’d sort of fudged the thumb and it was displeasing me every damn time I put it on, and the gauge was a little funky, and I’d learned a few too many things on the way; even though it looked fine, it was not up to my standards. It sat around in the knitting basket for 2 months after I last put it down, and I finally figured that if I finished it as it was, I’d never be really happy with it, and so that was worth the work I’d already put in.

    If you rip, at least the yarn can become what it really wants to be someday, or it might find a new home, and either way, YOU’LL be more happy with a good fo, or to not have the yarn hanging over your head that does not properly inspire any more.

  2. whitney Says:

    Wow, that is quite a list! Since I also have a rather long list of works-in-progress, I have been trying very hard to remain focused on one (well, actually two, since I have a simple sock project in at my office that only gets worked on there) project at a time, which has been working well so far on the “getting things done” front. But it’s hard…the temptation to cast on for the shiny new project is so strong!

    I like the Lady’s suggestions!

  3. kae Says:

    PHEW! That *is* a long list! I agree with post one.. work on the things you really want to finish first. Keep a few “easy” projects to keep you going, and everything else that has been languishing and you’re not sure about, I’d say frog and use the yarn for something else.

Leave a Reply

