Everything’s so easy for Pauline

This actually wasn’t one of the surprises that I originally had planned for this week, but I happened to stop by the Malabrigo Junkies group on Ravelry and noticed that they were having a one skein design contest.  And then I thought, “Hey!  I have a spare skein of Malabrigo!  Maybe I’ll make something.”  Forty eight hours later I was the proud owner of this little hat.  I’m calling it Pauline.

I’m really, really thrilled with this hat.  I’ve actually been wanting something like this for years, but if it hadn’t been for the impetus of a contest, I might never have gotten off my duff to make it.  It’s super easy to make, too, which is a nice bonus.  The whole time I was working on it, I feared I was going wrong somewhere, but the end result actually looks surprising like what I had pictured in my head.

I’m not sure whether I like it best tied or untied.  It’s very warm when it’s tied, and very snug on the ears.  I suspect I’ll be wearing this a lot come winter. If anyone is interested in doing a test knit this month, let me know.  There will be two sizes: S/M and L/XL.  I can’t offer you yarn, but it takes less than a skein of Malabrigo to make, and you could use leftovers (maybe in contrasting colors) for the flowers and leaves. I’ve got test knitters!  Thanks so much – if you volunteered, I’ll be sending you the pattern today (October 6th).

I’m feeling better.  Not 100% better, but a lot better.  We took my first outing in a few weeks and walked over to the greenway for these pictures.  There are a ton, but I’ll mostly let them do the speaking for the rest of the post.  I’m not feeling terribly eloquent, but I am very grateful to be on the mend.  Thank you so much for all the well wishes.

You can see the leftover yarn in the picture above.  Yay!

And, finally, I’m putting this picture in because I’m vain of it.  It’s the first picture of myself that I’ve really liked in a long time.  You can hardly see the hat, though!

Tags: , , , , ,

22 Responses to “Everything’s so easy for Pauline”

  1. Jen M. Says:

    Beautiful! I have never knit with Malabrigo, but your post is definitely tempting me to break down and buy a skein :). Please consider me to test knit (although I am by no means an expert).

    Jen

  2. the Lady Says:

    Oh my god, I freaking Love It! I’ll totally test knit it for you, I have a ton of Malabrigo I’m doing nothing with. I have to say, I like how it looks untied. I love all those pictures. Well done you!

  3. cat Says:

    I’d love to test knit this, though since I live down under I’ve never seen a skein of malabrigo – but I’d love to test it in an alternative yarn…..what do you think? You should probably know too, that I have a podcast so that if you think you do want me to do a test knit, I’d probably mention it on that.

  4. Irene Says:

    I love that song, “Everything’s So Easy for Pauline” and I LOVE your hat. Nice job!

  5. Amanda Says:

    That’s adorable! I have a spare skein of Malabrigo of my own and would love to test knit, if you’d grant me that privilege. 🙂

  6. Amy Says:

    The hat, your entire outfit, and that last picture are just gorgeous! Makes me wanna break out the malabrigo that I have. 🙂

  7. whitney Says:

    Oh my goodness, it’s adorable! I’ve been wanting to make a hat/bonnet like that, and I have a couple of solitary skeins of Malabrigo looking for a project, so I’d be happy to test knit this!

  8. orata Says:

    This hat is so cute!

  9. CanarySanctuary Says:

    That is the cutest bonnet I’ve ever seen. No contest. I really love it! Can’t wait for the pattern 🙂

    (on a slightly related note: the colour of the yarn really complements your lovely eyes!)

  10. mum Says:

    Love the hat… am looking to make one for a friend who has moved to the frozen north…
    Would also be happy to test knit.

  11. Noelle Says:

    wonderful hat! any way to get on a notification list when it goes “live” on Ravelry? I’d love to whip a few of these up for Christmas!

  12. sarah Says:

    I love love love the hat, and if you need any more test knitters, I’d kill to try that out.

    Also, I have to ask- that last shot is wonderful. You don’t happen to remember what color lipstick you were wearing that day, do you? It’s lovely.

  13. Nicole Says:

    What a charming hat! It looks incredibly lovely on you.

    Looking forward to the pattern!

  14. Suzanne Says:

    Kristen,

    What a wonderful bonnet! I always admire your work so much, but I admit this one instantly became my new favorite!

    PS I love the pic of you at the end; it accentuates the charms of your cute freckles.

  15. moonless Says:

    You are so talented my friend and this so cute.
    I mentioned it in my blog.
    http://www.kelebeklebizbize.blogspot.com

  16. Jenny Says:

    I really do like the Pauline. I think I said as much over on Ravelry, but I really do! Certainly let me know when it is released. Also keep me on a list of possible test knitters!

  17. marinade Says:

    I can’t wait to knit this! Please let me know when it’s available. Thanks and nice work!

  18. Ailsa Says:

    Everything about this pattern is gorgeous. The hat, the photos. the styling – as good as any magazine or book – and quite franky – better than most.

    Brava girl. Awesome.

  19. weirdrockstar Says:

    OY!
    I just found your blog.
    What an adorable bonnet!
    Great idea and you and your family are so gorgeous people!
    Would you mind if I linked this post on my blog?
    I`m letting these pictures marinate a bit and then see what I come up with.

  20. She made her first Knee Socks November 25, 2008 « What did she do today? Says:

    […] During my search on Ravelry for a bonnet pattern for mini, I found a delightful little bonnet for the grown ups. […]

  21. candace Says:

    Greetings!
    Can you tell me when and where I might be able to find the Pauline hat pattern?
    Thank you!
    Candace

  22. KJ Says:

    I too want to knit this!

Leave a Reply

