Real Ultimate Power!

I’ve been working on a site redesign over the last few days, and apparently three year old Eleanor took note, because she told me, “Mama, I’m going to draw you a knitting kninja!” and a few minutes later, this was the result.  This is apparently me, disguised as a kninja.  Note the circular and straight needles the kninja is equipped with.  My kid rocks.*  I may have to incorporate this into the site design.

I also tried to get Nora to cooperate for some pictures of her in her Tomten jacket, which she was wearing around the house yesterday, but she was in a stroppy mood.  She lay down on the floor and scowled.

The best picture I got of her was this one, in which the jacket is not very visible.

But hey, that’s the price of raising a tempermental artistic genius, I suppose.  And it’s not as though I won’t have more opportunities to take pictures of her in a jacket.  You know, what with winter coming and all.

Thank you all so much for the responses to my Pauline bonnet!  I’ve never gotten so many nice comments, both here and on Ravelry.  I wanted to let you know a little more about what’s going on with that.  The pattern is currently being test knit, and will be released in mid November, after the results of the contest are decided.

A number of folks have asked to be notified when the pattern is released.  I’d be happy to do so, so if you comment here asking to be added, I’ll put you on an email list to be notified as soon as the pattern goes live.

I’ve also gotten a lot more of a response on test knitting than I had expected!  I don’t need any more test knitters right now, but there are a couple more patterns coming down the pipeline, and if you’re interested in being notified when I have new patterns available to test knit, let me know that as well.  I’ll email the interested folks first when the new patterns are ready.

I have to say that all this has really underlined what a wonderful community the online knitting world is.  I know that detractors and flame wars are par for the course when one ventures onto the interweb superinfotechniceducommercehighway but I think that overall the fiber arts world has stayed remarkably civil and supportive.  So yay for knitting!

*All three of my kids rock!  It’s just Eleanor whose rocking is featured today.

8 Responses to “Real Ultimate Power!”

  1. Vanessa Says:

    Hi Kristen,
    I’d love to be added to the email list for when the Pauline bonnet pattern is made available. Thanks so much!

    Love your daughter’s picture of you as knitting kninja!!! 🙂

  2. the Lady Says:

    Dude, that picture is great. I love how Nora got in circs and straights. I just ferreted out my yarn today, and am eager to cast on.

    What contest?

  3. Clumsy Knitter Says:

    I would love to know when the pattern is available…thanks for offering to let us all know!

    I’m also willing to be a test knitter, if the need ever arises. 🙂

  4. Sarah Says:

    Nora has mad motor skillz for a three-year-old! (Not that I’m surprised; she got good genes.) I really like all that ultimate power coming out of your head. I thought the circs were nunchaku, but who wants to mess with that possible duality? Happy autumn to your whole wonderful expressive family.

  5. Amy Says:

    Eleanor looks adorable, even in her fit. I love the pointy top of the Tomten hood. I kind of want to make one for myself.

    I’d be happy to be a test knitter if you ever need one!

  6. Jodi Says:

    What a cute Tomten! I’m working on one right now, too, and I’m worried about running out of handspun yarn, so I’m doing the collared version.

    Congrats on the response to Pauline. It’s a cute style, and the Neko Case reference just plain rocks.

  7. Zelia Says:

    yay!
    wonderful drawing.
    You’ve got the power!

  8. merete Says:

    oh me oh my. nothing compares to tomten. and the drawing of you is pretty amazing too.

Leave a Reply

