Finally/heartbreak

Nora finally let me take pictures of her while she was wearing her Tomten jacket!  Woot!  She’s had the jacket for a year, but I’ve never gotten a decent picture of the jacket actually being worn.  Until now, that is.

The pictures are made extra precious by what I noticed a few hours after they were taken.   Namely, that someone, presumably Eleanor herself, had cut a hole in the jacket.

It doesn’t really show in any of these pictures – it didn’t really show at all, actually, until little pieces of purple yarn fell down and I noticed the holes.  They were made with scissors, but since none of the young ‘uns are fessing up to it, I think it may have been an accident that went unnoticed.  It’s altogether possible that Eleanor was cutting out a drawing and accidentally snipped her coat.

Can you see the hole in this shot?  It’s just above the blue stripes.  The yarn bits hadn’t fallen out yet, but it’s there.

Now what?  I still have plenty of the purple yarn, but the culprit snipped in such a way that a piece of a whole row is gone.  There’s a second, smaller hole further up.  I’m going to drag the whole heartbreaking mess down to my local yarn store and beg for help.  I don’t demand perfection in the fix, but I want to make sure it doesn’t open up again, and I want to make sure it doesn’t look too hideous.  If it was not an actual hole, I know I could fix it.  I’ve repaired holes in sweaters before, but they were simpler than this one is.

As frustrating as the hole is, it did mitigate my disappointment with Maude Louise.  I thought I was all done when I attached the buttons, but it was only after the buttons were attached that it became really clear that the button bands hadn’t worked out.  I was very upset at the time – I hate being so close to being done and having to rip back – but ripping button bands in an otherwise successful project doesn’t seem like such a big deal now.

So I’ve begun new button bands on Maude II, and I think these ones should work out better, but at the very least, they’re not a big gaping hole!

Sigh.  I know kids wear out their clothing, but I really didn’t expect the cut at all.  Well, I’m hoping this is the worst thing that happens for a while, because then I can count myself fortunate.  It does seem a bit harder when the problem arises with clothing you made than clothing you bought, though.

I’m sure the next post will be happier knitting news!  And even if it doesn’t look as nice after this, I WILL find a way to repair the jacket.  It’s too cute and useful to let fall by the wayside.

10 Responses to “Finally/heartbreak”

  1. orata Says:

    Oh noooo! If it makes you feel any better, my boyfriend lost a hat I made him when crawling around in the mud behind a stadium fence trying to get in for free, and he really is old enough to know better.

    The jacket will be easily repaired, I think, since it’s just garter stitch. Good luck!

  2. Amanda Says:

    It should not be too hard to fix the hole. You are able to design entire garments, patching a small hole should be no problem! There is a great article in the spring 06 issue of Knitty called Repairing Knitwear that could help you out. The jacket is totally cute though, and if all else fails you could just sew a cute patch over the hole to salvage the jacket.

  3. the Lady Says:

    Let me see that hole! I’m sure it can be fixed.

  4. Sarah Says:

    I think you can fix it, too. If it’s only one row missing, you can graft it, and even if it’s more than one row you ought to be able to knit up (on a dpn) the last intact row of stitches (pulling out some extra stitches either side so you’ll have tails of the original to weave in), then graft those. You can do it! Go Kninja!

  5. whitney Says:

    Oh, no! That’s terrible about the hole. I hope you can get some help fixing it. I wound up with a hole like that in a hat that I’d knit, because one of my cats got ahold of it and chewed through it. I set it aside for a year because I just couldn’t deal with it, but it actually wasn’t too terrible to fix. I can try to give you some tips for fixing it yourself, if you’d like.

    I’m eager to see Maude Louise!

  6. Liz T. Says:

    Oh no! But actually I think that a cut hole should be easier to repair than a worn hole as you won’t have the problem of weak edges around the hole. I’m sure your knitting shop will be able to advise you. Good luck!

  7. Philippa Says:

    She is so beautiful! She can definitely carry the name Eleanor 🙂 x

  8. merete Says:

    i remember fixing holes by grafting. it was a lovely fair isle and my niece wedding ring had cut a thread. it still works.

    your daughter is lovely as always and all your kids and i think tomten is a winner. i love it so much. i knitted four but especially two of them has been a great success with the recepient. the colours are lovely too.

  9. heidi Says:

    it’s soooo cute:)

    I hope you will be able to fix that hole:)

  10. Shelly Says:

    Great pics – I can’t believe how much Nora has grown! And I can’t believe Liam is really 7. As always, your work is beautiful and an inspiration to me.

    Claire is wanting a new poncho, one that is warmer than the one her aunt crocheted for her (acrylic & lots of “holes” as Claire says). Any suggestions on a pattern?

    Say Hi to Daniel & the kids for me and have a Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

