Eat your heart out, Ed Wood!

So it’s not a pure angora sweater.  I still think Edward D. Wood, Jr. would approve.

Maude Louise the Second is done!  Those tricksy button bands* really threw me off, but I’m so glad I took the time to get them right, because I’m really, really happy with this sweater.

The yarn, by the way, improved on me as I knit.  I liked it to begin with, but I thought it had a very dry hand and that it didn’t have much drape.  It has plenty of drape, actually, and the dryness simply isn’t an issue in the fully knit sweater, which is very, very soft and very warm.  While it’s true that RYC Soft Lux is discontinued, there are still a number of places selling it online, and probably in the three dimensional world as well.  My advice to anyone who’s considered trying it is to snap it up now.  Webs still has a pretty good selection of colors available, and you can’t beat the slight shimmer and soft, soft feel of this yarn.  The color I used is called cashmere.

On a slightly connected tangent, “cashmere” is the name of the scent of my my Dove deodorant.  I bought it for two reasons:

  1. I was amused at the thought of a goat scented deodorant.
  2. Marketing works on me.  It’s a deodorant named after fiber!  I must have it!

The deodorant and the yarn named cashmere have this in common: they contain absolutely no cashmere, and neither smells like goats.

I don’t think I’ll get to rewriting the pattern until some time in January. Not that it’s surprising at this time of year, but it’s rather busy around the Kninja household at the moment.  Nonetheless, my notes are in really good order, and I have high hopes for getting the whole thing together.  And even taking some better pictures for the new pattern, too.  I made a couple of strategic mistakes for these.  Liam was home sick from school, so we couldn’t go anywhere to shoot, and I didn’t straighten up the backyard at all.  And also, in a display of brazen vanity, I put on mascara, even though all eye makeup hurts my eyes.  By the time many of these pictures were shot, my eyes were red and somewhat swollen and they hurt like you would not believe.  The worst part is that I knew that would happen and I did it anyway.  This is because, unlike such creatures as puppies and banana slugs, I do not learn from my mistakes.

Whatchoo talkin bout, Willis?

Whatchoo talkin' 'bout, Willis?

*In some cultures, button bands are “trickster characters”, like Raven, Coyote, Anansi, and Muhammad Ali.

11 Responses to “Eat your heart out, Ed Wood!”

  1. marcy Says:

    I agree. Ed would approve.

  2. Rachel Says:

    WOW! Beautiful! I love the waist detailing – so flattering!

  3. Emily Says:

    I agree – the waist detailing and echoed motif down the arms are totally lovely! So flattering and feminine. I love the deep cuffs, too. Well played!

  4. the Lady Says:

    Laughter.

    Nice sweater, it looks very soft. Wow, crazy about the eye-makeup thing. Have you tried the “natural” hippy type products?

  5. orata Says:

    I may have already said this on Ravelry, but the redone sweater is beautiful and your pictures came out gorgeous!

  6. amanda Says:

    beautiful!! I love this pattern and hope I get around to knitting it soon 🙂

  7. whitney Says:

    So gorgeous! I have some Soft Lux in my stash, but probably not enough to knit this lovely sweater, alas. You have my sympathies on the eye makeup…I can’t wear it either!

  8. Nicole Says:

    Gorgeous! Looking forward to the pattern.

    Please throw your mascara out, so you won’t be tempted to torture yourself again! That sounds awful!

  9. Free Knitting and Crochet Patterns Says:

    You did a great job! The sweater looks awesome.
    Cathy

  10. Natasha Says:

    What an absolutely beautiful sweater. The yarn color and buttons work wonderfully with the design! Can’t wait to see the pattern.

  11. Elin Says:

    That looks great on you! I thinK i might even like it better than your original Maude.

Leave a Reply

