Sweaters!

I have two new sweaters.  Two!

The first is pretty obvious – I got the last skein of Andean Treasure and finished up my McQueen Knockoff.  Only two years in the making!

The Andean Treasure is a very good yarn for the price.  The baby alpaca is soft and warm and feels very nice against the skin, and the heathered qualities of this line make cables stand out in a starker relief.  The color in the above picture is not quite accurate.  The shade I chose, Ember, is a red and black heather, and the black is stronger in real life than it is in that photo.  I’ve been wearing the sweater quite a lot, and there’s a little pilling under the arms, but it’s not enough to get worked up about.  All in all, I’m very happy.  I needed a sweater of this sort – something pretty and basic that would work as a warm transitional top.  I don’t have enough of those in my wardrobe.

Here’s the story of sweater number two:  It’s actually been warmer here lately, but the other night it got really cold again.  I was huddled in layers of wool, wishing I was warmer, and then I grabbed Mr. Kninja’s Seamless Hybrid and pulled it on.  And it was WARM.  So warm.  That’s when I realized that I don’t have a big cozy pullover and that a pullover is warmer than even the warmest cardigan, and I knew I wanted one immediately.  I thought about my stash and how frustrating it was that I did not have enough yarn to make a big pullover and then I remembered the six skeins of RYC Soft Tweed.

Those skeins are the color of raw pork, I thought.  They’re funny looking.

I’m cold, I thought.  I want a sweater!  That is enough thick warm yarn for a smallish pullover.  Forget the color, I thought.  Make the sweater.  Dooooo iiiiiit!

It wasn’t hard to pick a pattern.  I’ve been crazy about Kate’s o w l s sweater ever since she posted it.  (I am not alone.  I think it may well be the most popular finished object on Ravelry with over 2000 loves.)  I grabbed the yarn and immediately cast on for an extra small, even though I wear a small, because I wasn’t sure I had enough yarn otherwise.

I had just enough yarn for an extra small, as it turns out, and would not have had enough for a small, so it’s probably good that I made the extra small.  Probably.  It’s a little, well, va-va-voomish.  Perhaps rather too much so.  The sweater is currently wet and blocking, but even with the way RYC Soft Tweed grows, it’s still really small.  On the other hand, it is a very warm pullover, which is exactly what I wanted.

The slapdash nature of this project leaves a number of things up in the air.  Things like, “Should I wear a sweater that is actually too small for me?  Should I wear pink, or should I try to dye this thing?  Does it turn out that raw pork is the one shade of pink I can wear?  Oh, ew, I think it does.  Is it OK to have pink owls?  Is it a problem that the only buttons I have that are both the right size and number to make the owl eyes are a pale lime green?”

These, and other questions, will be answered when the sweater is dry.  In the meantime, I can say that o w l s is a fast, beautiful, well written pattern, and everyone should make one.  I’m sure I’ll be making one in my own size when I have the yarn for it.

So those are the finished sweaters, but I’m also finishing up my Transparency sweater and I have the yarn to make Liam a Tomten jacket.  Also, remember poor Gabriel’s languishing cabled saddle shoulder cardigan?  I restarted that thing more than five times, and I’ve decided it’s a wash.  I had a talk with Gabriel, who is a very sensible child, and he said, “It’s better to have a sweater than to wait around and never have the PERFECT sweater,” so we decided to scrap the sweater o’ doom and design something simpler and faster.  He settled on a saddle shoulder pullover with cables up the arms and a contrasting yarn on the cuffs and neck.  We’ll make it a little big, since the child grows like it’s going out of style.  We already have to shop for his shoes in the Men’s section.

I love sweaters.  It’s nice to think there are so many yet to knit!

6 Responses to “Sweaters!”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Snort – raw pork! I’ll never be able to think of that shade of pink the same way again. It’s going to be fashionable this spring, according to Pantone’s forecast. I can hardly believe none of the couture designers listed raw pork as an inspiration for their collections. Really, why should salmon get all the attention?

    (And did I ever mention how tempted I’ve been to design a cabled sweater for my husband using all the cables named for meats in Barbara Walker’s treasuries?)

    The McQueen sweater looks fantastic, and I’m guessing the va-va-voom pork owls will, too.

  2. the Lady Says:

    Ain nuttin wrong with a little VOOM! Let’s see it! And I think I’d go out and find some different buttons, unless the lime green looks good. And pink is great! I don’t think it looks like meat at all.

  3. orata Says:

    o w l s ! I’m wearing mine now! I think pink owls are fine (mine are blue). I made the Small and it’s really quite small on me (esp. the sleeves, which I accidentally made the same circumference as the XS for most of the length before noticing I’d left out an increase), but worked out OK after blocking.

    Your McQueen knockoff looks fantastic. Is it itchy? I’ve read some comments to that effect about the Andean Treasure when worn next to skin.

  4. Elin Says:

    That sweater looks great on you! I also love the owls pattern, but I wonder if i really need a sweater that warm and thick.

  5. CanarySanctuary Says:

    Thanks for the yarn review! I’m always interested to hear about Knitpicks yarns.
    I bet the (pork pink) sweater looks just fine on. Give it a whirl – sometimes the colours I least expect to be flattering on me turn out to be great.

  6. amanda Says:

    Beautiful sweater! I’ve heard good things about Andean Treasure but have never tried it out. Your owl sweater is just darling, too.

Leave a Reply

