Satisfaction

All who told me that it was likely my Soft Tweed would stretch enough were right.  I remembered that the stuff stretches, of course, but really, you should have seen the sweater before blocking.  Everyone who saw me knitting it kept saying, “Wow, is that for a little kid?”

Ironically, though, based on my experience with the disastrous Willow coat, I assumed the sleeves would stretch more than they did (while distrusting the body to stretch enough), and I made them a bit too short.  I’m not worried, though.  Mr. Kninja’s Seamless Hybrid was a bit shorter than was ideal, and earlier this month I finally got up the nerve to cut into it and open up the stitches and extend the bottom bit.  To my surprise, it doesn’t show.  I had expected that since the sweater was knit from the bottom up, opening it and knitting down would be a problem, but it’s really not.  So, with that in mind, I’m going to open up the sleeves and extend the ribbing.  I have just enough yarn left that it should work.  As a result, modeled photos will have to wait.

I’m playing catch up a lot these days, though, so here’s something I finished a little while ago.

Nora’s blanket!  I used the cast off from the Hemlock Ring blanket and a little leftover Amoroso Malabrigo for contrast.  It’s certainly a noisy piece of fabric, but she loves it and has been dragging it everywhere.  Dolls snuggle under it, tea parties are held on top, and it’s an essential component of bed time.  And the boys like the fact that it can also be put to use as a bottomless pit of molten lava!  We need to find the melty Anakin figurine and take his picture on this blanket.  Win!

I’m not too fond of how the blanket looks, but since the person who requested it loves it, I think it’s a success.

A few words on the pattern: the Pi Shawl is, of course, a brilliant recipe for creating round knitting.  I used the very most basic form for this blanket, not even adding the eyelets on every sixth row that would make it look more even, but it’s endlessly customizable, and I expect to make more round things this way.  You could make quite a large blanket with about four skeins of Malabrigo.

Also, on a related note, Pauline is up on the Malabrigo website, along with the other Malabrigo Junkies winners.  Spiffin’!

One Response to “Satisfaction”

  1. Emily Says:

    People ALWAYS ask whether my knits are for a little kid!! In this voice like they expect me to be pregnant. And then when I say the thing is not a baby blanket but a sweater for me they look politely incredulous, like they think I will be devastated when I try it on and it doesn’t fit. It’s a pet peeve of mine.

    In other news, it’s pretty cool that you knitted a boiling pit of hot lava. I recall those being very useful props indeed in the land of make-believe.

Leave a Reply

