A random collection

Thank you so much for your nice comments on the Day’s Eye hat!  I cannot wait to see finished versions up and about.  Let me know if you knit one up!

The above is a test knit of a really cool beret pattern coming soon from the lovely firegirlpj.  The picture is washed out, but this is a really cute pattern, and it will be available for free on Ravelry soon, so keep your eyes out for it!  I used a random skein of Cascade 220 Superwash that was lying about, and I like the material a lot.  The end result is a wee bit too big for my head, but I have a really small head, so that’s not too surprising.  It’s for my sister, anyway, so hopefully it will fit her.  (Um, surprise, Erin!)

I finished up Baby Paulette, and now only need to find a baby to model it!  Baby or no, I’ll be sending out the pattern to test knitters next week, so if you’re not on the test knitters list, and you’re interested in testing this one, let me know.  I ended up going with six sizes: 0-6 months, 6-12 months, 12-18 months, 2-4 years, 5-6 years, and 7-10 years.  If you have a daughter or know a little girl you’d like to make one for, this is a good stashbusting project, as it doesn’t take much yarn.  Paulette’s written for DK weight yarn, and I used a fingering weight yarn doubled for the baby size.

I made my first homemade pickles recently, and I’m pretty happy with the experience, though I think I’d use slightly less salt and slightly more vinegar next time.  If you’ve ever made pickles, what do you like to use?  What ratio of salt, water, and vinegar for the brine?  I followed a recipe, since it was my first time, but my pickles lack the punch of my favorite kosher dills.

I’ve decided to offer my Viena Silky for trade.  It’s gorgeous yarn, but I can’t seem to get happy with most variegated yarns, and I think I’d prefer a solid skein of Malabrigo Silky, or, heck, something else altogether.  If you have a skein you’d be interested in trading with me, drop me a line.  I’d rather trade than sell, and I’d love to see this yarn go where it can be used and appreciated.  My favorite colors are autumnal, but I’ll consider any shade, really.

That’s probably enough random items for one post, eh?

Leave a Reply

