Rainbows and flappers

Liam’s rainbow jacket doesn’t actually have any rainbows yet, but it’s nearly done.  While he stuck to his guns on the pink edging, the actual yarn he picked out from my yarn cabinet is a bit more nuanced than I’d been expected.  It’s some lovely mohair blend stuff from Giff – she sent me a couple of skeins, and this is the last of it.  It’s more a soft red than an actual pink.  I’m not crazy about it with the colors of the jacket, and would still have preferred a gold, but I think it’s OK.

He’s given me leave to use my own taste on the rainbow, so I think I’ll pick some pretty fingering weight yarns and chain stitch the rainbow.  I will probably use some white unspun wool for the clouds.

I knitted myself the Sideways Grande Cloche from Boutique Knits.  The book was my birthday present from Mr. Kninja, but this is the first pattern I’ve knit from it.  I love the end result, but I made a lot of mods to get there.  The pattern as written will make an absolutely collosal hat.  I cast on 33 stitches, down from 42, and used size 7 needles for most of the hat, rather than size 10.  I went down only one size, to 6, for the front of the hat.

I also did the top in garter stitch, and made the cable much shorter than what the pattern called for.  I actually made it the same length as suggested, at first, and it looked ridiculous – baggy and hanging off the hat – so I ripped it down and now I love it.

The whole thing was a bit of an experiment.  I wanted to try to Louet Riverstone Chunky, because it’s a nice looking yarn that comes in a wide variety of colors for an excellent price.  Using just one skein was a good way to take the yarn for a test drive, and as it happens, I really, really like it.  It’s a plain wool, but soft and servicable, and the color is lovely.  My pictures are a little greyed out, but it’s a dark, rich blue, greener than pictured.  The other experiment was in using blue at all.  It’s a color I love, but do not wear near my face, as it often makes me look jaundiced.  This shade, however, had enough green that I thought I might be OK, and I think it works.  Nice to think I found a blue I can wear!  Between this and my O W L S sweater, I may be able to find a shade of each of my forbidden colors that looks all right.

Paulette is currently being test knit, but will be available shortly, and I’m trying to have Maude Louise II done by the end of the week.  I’ll keep you posted!

4 Responses to “Rainbows and flappers”

  1. Harper Says:

    Lovely hat. Your comments about the original size intrigue me as I have a very large noggin — might have to try the pattern as-is.

    I think Liam has a lovely colorsense. The rose color looks great and, let’s face it, a rainbow jacket isn’t going to be subtle anyway.

  2. the Lady Says:

    Liam’s jacket is looking nice and bright. The colors may not be to your taste, but if they are to his, chances are he’ll love and wear it. Also, look on the bright side – at least you aren’t stuck knitting navy blue and black for the men in your life. That gets boring, let me tell you.

    Nice hat. I thought the sample I saw looked rather big! Nice to know about the mods.

  3. Marcy Says:

    The hat looks lovely on you.
    I have not knit with a Louet yarn yet that I didn’t want to knit more. I really like Riverstone in chunky and worsted. Very versatile, soft, etc etc etc. Not enough stores carry Louet in my opinion.
    The pink edging is wonderful. That is going to be a happy child.

  4. Liska Says:

    I love the hat, but I’m a bit reluctant to make it without your expert advice and pattern. Any news???

Leave a Reply

