Behindhand

I’m falling behind again: no longer posting so often, not catching up on emails, scrambling to meet self imposed deadlines and to maintain some semblance of order in my own life.

BUT

Things are progressing.  Maude Louise II is mostly graded and ready to go, but I’ll need a few more days to put it all together.  I have learned so, so darn much in this process, and there are two things I’m keeping in mind.  One: I never have to write a pattern quite this crazy again.  And two, when I do write a sweater pattern again, I will have a much better idea of how to grade it quickly and efficiently.

If you’re a Bay Areaite, I’m going to be teaching a couple of classes at K2Tog next month.  If you were thinking of knitting either the Day’s Eye Hat or Pauline, and you’re concerned that some of the techniques look unfamiliar, this is a great opportunity to get a little extra help.

I have been getting started on the Spring cleaning, and while I am not a natural housekeeper, and my going is slow and painful, it feels good to start seeing some results.

I’m doing well in my math class, despite illness and a test that I screwed up.

I’m making some new mitts.  I need some anyway, and I had an idea, just playing around with the word March.  I remembered the old childhood quote about how March comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb, and it hit me that it would be fun to structure a knitting project that way, with a lot of difficult twisty bits right up front, and then a gradual decrease in difficulty until the end of the pattern, when the whole thing would become very simple indeed.  I have a skein of Malabrigo Dos (to my mind, the perfect Malabrigo yarn: it’s as soft as the Worsted, but it’s plied, so it’s not pilling so much, nor is it losing its integrity so easily) that is gradually being transformed.  The only difficulty is that the color I fell for is rather dark, so it’s a bit hard to see the stitches.  No matter.  It’s a fun little challenge, and I’m not rushing myself.

The kids are all doing spectacularly well.

This is the coolest sheep-related video ever in the history of sheep-related videos.

And all of a sudden, with no warning, it’s Spring!

Leave a Reply

