Rustic

Muench Sir Galli, now discontinued, is a silk tweed, and while it’s not actually practical for rustic use, something about it, from the subdued natural tones to the tweedy flecks and nubs, screams rustic.  It has a gnarled, woody look, and when I finally made use of it, I felt that I wanted to turn that woody look to the advantage of the garment.

This isn’t the most practical cardigan I’ve ever made, but I’m excited nonetheless, because all the elements of this experiment worked out rather as I wanted them to.  I had a vision and the end result looks an awful lot like that vision, despite a certain lack of knowledge when it comes to shaping lace.  You can see that in the rumply shape of the front panels, but the raglan shaping itself went very well.

I need to get a picture of the back of this so you can actually see the Fir Cone lace.  It’s a fine old Shetland pattern, closely related to Razor Shell and Fern lace, but it doesn’t lie as flat as either of these.  This is where the silk yarn came in handy: the sheer amount of drape causes the lace to lie relatively flat, something I don’t think would be possible in most fibers.

As I said in my last post, I have no plans to write up a pattern for this one, but I do like the construction enough that I’m planning a similar garment that will be written up.

I’m still unwell and still on crutches, and am overall unhappy with my body and its inability to stay healthy for any space of time longer than a month.  The crutches are leaning against a nearby wall in the above photo, and to be honest, soon after it was taken I was too tired to stay upright.  It’s just a bit discouraging.  Use of the crutches creates pain in parts of my body other than my foot, and then my fibromyalgia flares up and I’m exhausted and painful all the time.  It’s making me crabby.

I have deeper thoughts, mostly inspired by Emily, that need to be written through, but I’m afraid I’m too tired to get to them now.  So for the moment, it’s just the new sweater!

7 Responses to “Rustic”

  1. Cyndii Says:

    I hope that you check out my site because I also suffer from fibromyalgia that often leaves me unable to live. I hope you have some better days soon! My fibro has been terrible in the last month because the weather in the DC area keeps changing: hot, cold, rain, rain, cold, hot. UCK!
    Take care!

  2. the Lady Says:

    So frustrating to have your body do things you don’t want it to! Sending good thoughts your way. Your cardi looks cool!

  3. Jessica Says:

    It’s a lovely sweater and it will work nicely as a lightweight layering piece for summer. I think you captured the “rustic” feel well. The styling of the sweater has a very tactile appeal. I hope you enjoy wearing it.

    I hope your ankle heals up and you are feeling better soon. I’m sorry that you’ve been in pain and suffering from ill health. I understand why you feel discouraged.

  4. Burbler Says:

    You must get off of those crutches so I can kidnap you to the sierras for pie a.s.a.p.

    Also, you must bring the cardigan because you look like a woodland crime fighter in it. Well done!

  5. Marcy Says:

    Very nice! I am looking forward to the written up version.

  6. Emily Says:

    This looks lovely! I’m sorry you’re having such health issues – nothing is so draining. Good vibes heading your way.

  7. heidi Says:

    I’ll hope you get better soon!

    it’s stunning! I really like it!

Leave a Reply

