Verde!

New pattern, available at PopknitsVerde is a green string bag knit out of recycled cotton.  This was my secret project for April, and it was a pretty relaxing knit, for the most part, save for the handle, which was reknit several times over.  I had a hard time settling on the perfect stitch pattern and needle size to create a really firm handle that wouldn’t stretch downward too much when worn and wouldn’t dig into the shoulder.  Many thanks to the Lady, who, during this period, looked at a proto-handle and suggested going down in needle size and using some kind of woven stitch.

When it came time to take the pictures for this project, I thought we might as well take them on an actual family outing, when we were putting the bag to use.  The photos were taken on our trip to Ardenwood Farm, which I mentioned previously.  Our picnic blanket and Nora’s Fleesa are shoved in there.  We’ve since used the bag for groceries and discovered that we can fit a whole heck of a lot of them in there!  The butterfly lace is super stretchy.

My husband has asked me to make a few more of these, so it’s a hit at our house!  I hope you can use it, too!

More soon, as I’m finally recovering!

4 Responses to “Verde!”

  1. Emily Says:

    Looks great! The handle-digging-into-the-shoulder issue is a HUGE reason I’ve never opted for knitted bags. Yours looks nice and wide, and hardy. Well done.

  2. commonplaceiris Says:

    I think I’ll have to add this pattern to my to do list. I’ve been meaning to work on some more bags and I really like the effect of the stitch you’ve used here — it’s much more aesthetically pleasing than the standard string bag pattern to my eye. Also like the idea of strap not digging into my shoulders very much. Thank you.

  3. Jessica Says:

    This bag is a great idea. I actually have some green cotton yarn I received as a gift but have never known what to do with that might work.

    Lovely models too.

  4. theLady Says:

    Nice! I’m glad it worked out well. Pretty photos. We’ll have to get together again when you’re feeling well.

Leave a Reply

