New pattern, plus other stuff

This is a little scarf I whipped up for one of my sons’ teachers!  I hadn’t originally planned to write up a pattern, but I was very pleased with how it turned out, so I ended up doing just that.  My scarf is short, but long enough to wear comfortably (I’ll get modeled shots soon), and it took only 220 yards of sport weight yarn!  I’m very pleased about that.  If you’re interested in test knitting, send me a quick message. My scarf was 55 inches long, but you can, of course, make yours longer, provided you have more yarn.

Perhaps this makes me odd, but the stitches together reminded me of Namib Desert beetles and the tracks they make in the sand.  The pattern, therefore, is named Beetle Tracks. It’s pretty simple and easy to memorize, and I hope other people enjoy it.

Other things!

The cutest little fellow showed up at my house the other day.

He didn’t bring any baggage, but he did bring a lot of cheer!  Weezel arrived on the very day that I really started feeling better again.  I think he’s good luck. He quickly made a friend.

Weezel has since settled happily onto my knitting cabinet.  Such a cool thing to get in the mail!  Thank you, Lady!

And since I’m trying to catch up, here are a few more things I’ve been working on and a detailed shot of the lace from my rustic cardigan.

8 Responses to “New pattern, plus other stuff”

  1. Shelly Says:

    Cute scarf! I would love to test knit it for you. I’m always looking for quick gifty things. Hope you are feeling better!

  2. Cyn Says:

    That little scarf is adorable! I’d offer to test knit if I had some appropriate yarn in my stash; alas, I do not. The perils of not being a stasher…

  3. Jeanne Says:

    Very cute scarf! I love the pattern combination…

  4. Emily Says:

    Very cute! I like the columns of yarnovers right next to the edges – gives it an articulated, framed look that’s quite appealing. Well done. 🙂

  5. whitney Says:

    Lovely scarf! I can totally see the beetle-track resemblance.

    Everything else looks quite lovely, too.

  6. Jodi Says:

    The new scarf looks just great! I’d love to test-knit one for you — just shoot me an email. 🙂

  7. theLady Says:

    A neat-oh pattern! And ahem – nice weezels.

    Did you get a new camera?, nice pictures!

  8. Teish Says:

    I really love the look of the scarf! If you are still looking for test knitters please let me know. 🙂 I stumbled across your blog from your string bag pattern on Pop Knits. Another thing to add to my must-knit list! 🙂

Leave a Reply

