Diamonds and lozenges

Clothilde went out for test knitting midway last week (thank you, testers!) and I hope to have the pattern out sometime in early August or thereabouts.

You may remember that earlier this year I declared my intention to try to return to old patterns, to update and revise and improve.  Maude Louise was the first in that queue, and it’s been slow going beyond that, but this month I returned to my sad and neglected Textured Toddler Tank, soon to be changed simply to Textured Tank.  The original was a bit of a problem.  I never got good pictures of it, and the one size was pretty unspecific.  The leftover yarn I used to make it, Lion Brand Wool-Ease, was not super comfortable directly against the skin.

The Textured Toddler Tank is the most neglected of my patterns, and for good reason: it’s vague, and the pictures make it very hard to see what on earth you’re meant to be getting at the end.  But I love the Diamonds and Lozenges stitch pattern used in the original, and I love the idea of a simple tank top with a lot of knit/purl texture, so I figured it was time to return to the Textured Toddler Tank.

About the only part of the original pattern that I kept was the Diamond and Lozenge stitch pattern and the garter straps that button in back.  Now tunic length, knit in the round in Classic Elite Cotton Bam Boo, the tank has a very different feel than before, both literally and figuratively.  I probably should have made the straps a bit shorter than I did – they have a disconcerting tendency to stretch – but otherwise I’m very happy with the result.  I’d intended to include the original picked up picot edging, but Eleanor thought otherwise, and I’m always happy to go simpler.

The Cotton Bam Boo is very nice to work with.  I’m not a big fan of cotton yarns most of the time, and had been very hesitant to use this, but feeling a lovely sample at K2Tog convinced me otherwise.  It’s nice and drapey yarn, though like many cotton or bamboo yarns, it does want to follow the force of gravity.  It’s also a bit splitty, but I thought this was a small price to pay for a yarn that feels so good against the skin.  I used far less than two skeins for this project, so although I was concerned about price at first, I felt that the end result was very reasonable.

I took a failed idea from an old project for the back.  When my Lace Camisole (from Sarah Dallas’ Vintage Knits) came out too large, I pleated the back and sewed it up.  In that case it was a bad mistake.  The whole project was simply too enormous to be significantly improved by a pleat.  In this case, though, I think the pleat finishes the whole project nicely.  It is, admittedly, sewn and not knitted, though I’m sure some clever person could figure out how to knit it in.  Me, I’m not feeling especially clever this weekend.  All my brain power has been used on cleaning up.

I had a much more intellectually stimulating post all lined up and then found that the research I was trying to do for it led away from my point rather than to it, so that will have to wait.  In the meantime, enjoy the pictures!  I will be rewriting the tank pattern fairly soon, and the old tutorial will be left up regardless.

4 Responses to “Diamonds and lozenges”

  1. Jessica Says:

    Nora looks really pleased with it. It’s darling on her and I like the fit and patterning.

  2. Natalia Says:

    Bellisimo!!

  3. whitney Says:

    It looks fantastic! I love the texture and the overall shape. It somehow reminds me of the gansey I’m knitting right now, probably because the color is similar, plus all that spectacular texture!

  4. judy Says:

    I am trying to find how to knit the Diamond Lozenge stitch.
    your top you made the little girl is just to cute for word.

    Judy/Springboro, Ohio

Leave a Reply

