The case of the time traveling undies

I don’t usually post about my underwear, nor had I planned to do so, but this is too good to keep to myself.  I ordered some underwear online a few days ago, and today I decided to track the status of said underwear.  On August 25th of this year, my package left Kansas City, Missouri.  But then it must have fallen through a crack in the space/time continuum, because the next activity recorded takes place on January 1st of 1900, when my underwear arrived in Union City, California, presumably to the bemusement of its Victorian residents.

So yeah, that was the highlight of an otherwise rather unpleasant day, involving much kerfluffle with hacked gmail accounts and school websites that refused to cooperate.  If you got an email from me offering to show you where to find cheap electronic equipment, then I’m sorry.  Apparently there’s a big freaking hole in gmail security and hackers snuck through it and into the accounts of a bunch of people who use gmail.  Ugh.

On a more upbeat note, thank you for all the wonderful name suggestions for my shrug!  I’ve gone from having no ideas to a wealth of ideas, and while it’s corny to say so, so many have struck my fancy that narrowing things down will be very difficult.  If you are interested in winning a copy of the Clothilde pattern, remember to post and suggest a name for my new shrug before September 1st.

A lot of folks have asked to see the front of the shrug.  As it is currently still damp from blocking, I haven’t got the shot yet, but I promise to get one very shortly so that you can see what it looks like beyond the fact of the cables.

Also, also, at the risk of spoiling a holiday surprise (Christine, close your eyes) I am test knitting a beautiful new pattern from Stephen at Westknits.   Herbivore is, thus far, great fun to knit.  The pattern is not boring, but it’s easy enough to make it great casual knitting for carrying about.

4 Responses to “The case of the time traveling undies”

  1. WillyG Says:

    Hey, I love the colors of your Herbivore! I’m test knitting it, too, but in rather darkish green and blue. I agree…a fun, casual knit. I’ve been able to take it with me all over.

  2. Julie Says:

    that’s hilarious about the mail order undies! Hopefully they’ll find their way back to this dimension.. that shawl is looking lovely so far!

  3. CanarySanctuary Says:

    I’m sorry about the craptastic day! I think it might cheer my spirits to fall through that space/time continuum crack and follow the undies to 1900! My my, methinks I watched too much Sliders as a kid 😛

  4. Rachael Says:

    I just had to laugh while reading this post because i grew up in Union City CA and still have friends and family from around there! what a small world LOL

Leave a Reply

