Help for Haiti

I’m going to be mentioning this regularly for a while now, but the Help for Haiti program on Ravelry is going really well.  Pattern sales on Help for Haiti projects have, on average, tripled, and with all the pledges, it looks like Ravelry users have already raised somewhere in the range of $15,000.  From my own standpoint, I can tell you that I was a little nervous when I pledged half my profits, because I use some of my pattern money to pay bills.  It’s not a large steady income, but it helps us get by.  However, because of the increase in sales, it looks as though I will have money for bills as well as a decent sized donation to make to Save the Children.  Thank you so much for your generosity!  Thus far Knitting Kninja has raised around $300 towards this donation.  And Ysolda alone has donated over $6000 to Medicins Sans Frontieres!  I think we all feel pretty helpless in the wake of a disaster as huge in scale as this earthquake, but these small increments can make a difference.

Julie Frick of Fricknits spent time in Haiti eight years ago, and has begun posting pictures from her trip on her blog.  Head over, take a look, and read her post.  It’s worth your while.

In 1997 after I graduated from high school, I set out for art school in Maryland.  I never finished, instead getting pregnant in my sophomore year and dropping out to produce a series of small humans.  My time at MICA, the Maryland Institute College of Art, is memorable, not least because it was such a small school.  I can’t say I knew all the other students on campus at the time, but we saw each other around and were at least peripherally aware of one another.  So it was with great sadness that I learned that one of the students I used to see around campus, Flo McGarrell, was killed in the Haiti quake.  I debated posting this.  I don’t think I ever spoke to Flo when I was at MICA.  We were not in the same year, and didn’t move in the same circles, and I don’t want to use his death to garner attention or sympathy for myself.  However, I do want to call attention to the work Flo was doing in Haiti when he died.  He was there as the director of a nonprofit art center, doing experiments with sustainability as sculpture.  As I say, I didn’t know Flo, but I remember seeing him around campus.  He was identifying as a woman then, often wore cowboy hats, and was part of a performance art group, Little Big Bang, that put on these amazing shows involving Flo’s huge inflatable sculptures.  Rest in peace, Flo.

I had more I wanted to talk about today, but it seems wildly out of place with the more serious topics above, so I’ll save it for another day.  In the meantime, thank you for your donations, and for taking the time to read this.  I’ll give a grand total at month’s end, and if things are still moving along at this pace, I may extend the period in which Knitting Kninja patterns will be participating in Help for Haiti.

2 Responses to “Help for Haiti”

  1. Jessica Says:

    How wonderful that you will be able to make such a generous donation to Save the Children. I hope your upswing in sales continues.

  2. Siena Says:

    I am glad that so many of you who designs patterns are donating to Haiti – I bought a bunch of patterns yesterday, among them Clothilde. It feels like such a small contribution to a big disaster like this, but it is great to hear that it all adds up to a grand total.

Leave a Reply

