What was raised

Thank you so much for your support during the month of January.  A lot of people chose to buy patterns now rather than wait, and as a result, this morning I was able to donate $838.25 to Save the Children.

I know it’s better to donate directly, but the thing I think worked well about the Help for Haiti program is that it worked in small increments.  A pattern is only $3 to $10, usually, a smaller amount than many people feel comfortable donating, but when it’s part of a larger effort like this, your small amounts join up with other small amounts, adding up to a grand total far greater than one you yourself might have been able to give.  My $838.25 is a tiny part of the larger Ravelry-wide effort.  I know there are mixed feelings, but I’m glad of every chance to combine charity with typical capitalism.  I think giving can be quite daunting, even in just a mental sense, but when it’s combined with something we were going to purchase anyway, it’s a little easier.

I waited until the end of the month to donate the lump sum.  My reasoning, perhaps faulty, was this: as the news cycle starts to move on, and Haiti stops being the lead story every day (on CNN as I type it’s a political story and a historical one) the donations will slow, but will still be needed.  I felt that by waiting, I could not only donate a larger amount, but it would be coming at a time when donations might be slowing.

I appreciate the trust that’s been shown by Ravelers.  Those of us who pledged to donate did just that: pledge, and the trust had to be a two way street, because we’re the ones holding ourselves accountable.  I wanted to reward that trust by sharing my Paypal receipt, with phone numbers and address blurred.  (And the confirmation number, because I wasn’t sure if anything could be done with that.)  It’s not much, but I thought a little accountability wouldn’t hurt.

Yes, my name is misspelled in Paypal.  My surname is Hanley Cardozo, but when I typed it in, I missed a letter and didn’t notice at the time.  Later, I tried to change it and was informed that it’s impossible.  I’m sure there’s got to be a way around that, but since it’s only one letter off, I kept it rather than start an entirely new account.  When I only used Paypal to pay for items I very occasionally bought on Ebay, it was no big deal, and a useful way of being able to tell when my package arrived (“Ah, my name is misspelled!  Must be those widgets I ordered!”) but now it’s become a little bit of an embarrassment.

Thank you so much for your purchases.  I’m going to play around with the math this morning and see if it’s possible for me to extend my pledge into February.  The quake victims will still be needing help as time goes on.

One Response to “What was raised”

  1. Allison Says:

    Congrats on the donation. As for donating directly, I’m thinking that most ravelers did what I did, made a donation directly, then looked around their queues and wish lists and decided not to put off buying a few patterns till they were ready to knit them, but to buy them during the help for Haiti period instead.

    I had complete trust in all the designers whose patterns I bought that the donation would be made (and if a few didn’t, well, it’s only a few dollars and not a redirection of the direct donations I’d already made), and I also assumed that all the designers would wait until the Help for Haiti sale period ended until making the donation. Seeing mid-period updates of donations on some blogs was a pleasant surprise.

    I’ve also been really impressed by the way that hand crafters and self-employed designers have been able to combine business with compassion, raising a lot of money for a good cause, while also brining new attention to budding designers. I haven’t read much in the way of criticism of the Help for Haiti initiative, but I try to avoid the constant whine of complaint that justifies inaction during crises like this. Raverlry and Ravelrers efforts were a very small bit of action during a big crisis, and small, consistent and compassionate action has been shown over and over again in history to be the only way to truly effect change. I’d like to thank you for being a part of that small effort.

Leave a Reply

