Good things

I think I forgot to mention it here, which is sad, but I extended my Help for Haiti pledge through the 14th of February.  Today I totaled it up and donated my second amount to Save the Children.  It was $399.75, so I tossed in the extra twenty five cents to bring it up to a satisfyingly round $400.  This puts the total for Knitting Kninja donations at $1238.25.  Thank you so much for your purchases that made this possible!  I’d never have been able to donate so much on my own.

I was going to wait until I was further along to show you anything to do with this project, but this yarn is so gorgeous, I have to share right now.  This very minute.

    This is superwash Bluefaced Leister yarn, dyed by Karin, the genius behind Orangeflower.  I wrote her some months back to ask if she could make me a custom color for a design I’m working on, and we’ve been writing back and forth ever since, trying to get this just right.  And holy cats, she did it!  This is some of the most beautiful yarn I’ve ever seen.  Depending on the angle and the light, the color shifts, showing more red or blue.  The BFL is soft against the skin, but stronger than merino and with a sheen like silk.  I am dying to start knitting with this, but there are a few things I have to finish up first.  The first sample for this project is on the needles, though, and I hope I’ll be able to show you something nifty before too long.

    Valentine’s Day was yesterday, and we had a quiet day at home.  Two out of three kids have been very, very sick with matching lung infections, so the biggest relief is that everyone is very much on the mend.  It wasn’t the most exciting Valentine’s Day, as a result, but it was a really pleasant one.  I stopped by Joann’s Fabrics and got supplies to make little felt kitties with the kids.

    We used instructions from an old issue of Craft.  From left to right, you see Beatrice, Rondi, and the unnamed ninja cat, made by Eleanor, Liam, and Gabriel respectively.  (With the occasional assist from Mom.  Threading needles is hard for small fingers.)  The best part of all this is that the eldest and the youngest discovered that they really, really enjoy sewing.  Nora spent the rest of the day cutting out more felt and sewing a little bed for her cat, Beatrice.  (Beatrice is apparently the daughter of Fleesa, who was introduced in this blog on Eleanor’s last birthday.)

    Ravelympics coincided with the fact that I really need to get cracking on my sister’s birthday present, so that’s on the needles, flying along.  I’m going to go ahead and post a picture on the assumption that my sister isn’t going to read this blog before her birthday, and that you can’t really tell what the present is anyway unless you’re familiar with the pattern.  The yarn is Luscious Single Silk from Bluemoon, and I’ll want to do a post on the yarn later, because it’s been a very interesting knit.

    Erin’s birthday is on the 23rd, and I think I’ll be finished with plenty of time.  I have some other projects on the go, but they’re rather more secret than the birthday knit, I’m afraid!  You’ll hear about them soon enough.

    I hope you had a wonderful weekend!

    4 Responses to “Good things”

    1. Emilee Says:

      That purple is stunning!

    2. WillyG Says:

      I’m totally feeling you on the “hafta share this yarn right now!” I’m typing in my best Yoda voice: Mmm, hot stuff, it is!

    3. Sarah Says:

      I love the felt kitties to pieces! (And they are well named, as I’d expect Chez Kninja.) I hope I’ll be able to think of all these great family craft ideas when I have bigger kiddos.

      I also love the vibrant, tropical colors you’re working with right now. I usually choose earthier shades, but apparently my early-elementary love of hot pinks and purples is reasserting itself today.

    4. Emily Says:

      I am normally not even a fan of purple, but your custom shade is gorgeous! Can’t wait to see what you’re up to with it.

    Leave a Reply

