Meet ups and projects galore

So, I got only about halfway through my Stitches recollections in the last post.  Stitches wasn’t just about the purchase of beautiful yarn, though that was certainly a draw.  No, both before and at Stitches, I got to meet up with some wonderful bloggers and Ravelry friends.

Several days before Stitches I went up to Stash to meet up with Huan-hua of Feather and Fan, and Prachi of Adventures of a Desi Knitter, and we lingered over the pretty yarns, chattered, and had warm drinks at the Starbucks right next to Stash. I’ve been reading Feather and Fan for years, and it was so nice to meet Huan-hua in person.  And while I’m new to the Desi Knitter blog, I am really enjoying it, and Prachi is a really warm person!  (This goes back to my previous post – everyone I met recently was really nice, and there are only so many ways to say this.  So, you know, some day I’ve got to meet up with a really mean knitter, just to throw you all off base.)

I have to confess that the amount of nice yarn at Stash actually got me so flustered that I ended up leaving empty handed.  They’d just gotten in a shipment of Madelinetosh Tosh Sock, and I kept picking one color or another, and then setting them back down.  And then I’d spot some other yarn I just had to have on the wall, and ultimately, I couldn’t pick anything!  I know I’ll go back soon, though – I love Stash!  I’m lucky, because there are a number of nice yarn stores near me, and they all have rather complementary stock.

At Stitches, I ran into a number of the ladies from my closest LYS, K2Tog, and then met up by appointment with Lina of Photo.Knit.Dog.  Lina was wearing her Multnomah in bright green Wollmeise, and I have to tell you that I am now itching to get my hands on some of that yarn.  It was so bright, and so pretty!  Lina was very sweet, and came with me as I dithered at one booth after another, chattering away like a mad monkey at the very fact of getting to talk with an adult!  Between the rain, illness, and school holidays, I’ve had a lot of time with my children lately, which is good on the one hand, but makes me a little stir crazy for adult company on the other.  This meant I could not. shut. up.  Lina knows a lot about a lot of yarn brands I hadn’t tried, and it was great to have her opinions when I was trying to pick out yarns for my various projects.  We then found Sarah (limejuicy on Ravelry) and some of her friends, and had a very lovely time chatting and showing off our purchases and talking yarn.  Sarah, Lina, and I all ended up purchasing the same shade of Becoming Art Cielo fingering, too!  I had ridiculous amounts of fun before I had to catch my train back.

Train catching was a whole different adventure!  It was raining pretty hard, so I put all my yarn in my waterproof Webs bag and tied it closed.  Then it was wandering out in the rain to try to find the train station using walking directions printed out on the internet combined with spoken directions from the concierge at the hotel.  The train station is quite close, but it’s not easily visible, so there were a number of moments of deep suspense as I spotted a building I thought was right and got close enough to discover myself at a fire station.  I made it in plenty of time, though, and then it was a pleasant train right north and home, working on my new sweater all the way and occasionally taking out my new yarns to admire them.

And that was Stitches!

I couldn’t resist trying some of my new yarn right away, so I knit a Side Slip Cloche, from Boutique Knits, with my Jacob/Alpaca yarn.  I need to get a modeled shot, but in the meanwhile, see?  It’s so fuzzy and wonderful!

Warm as Hades, too.  It figures I’d knit the warmest hat I now own just as the weather is lightening.  I love it, though!  The yarn, it is a dream.  It feels really sturdy and strong, and it looks and feels beautiful knit up.

Currently on the needles: Veyla, for the Malabrigo March KAL!  If you want to join in, come on over to the Malabrigo Junkies group on Ravelry.  I’d be glad of the company!

Also a new sweater for Knitting Kninja, and after a bit of thought, I’ve decided to document the design process in future posts.  The sweater is called Sunniva, and I’ll tell you more about it next time!

6 Responses to “Meet ups and projects galore”

  1. kiwiyarns Says:

    I am SO jealous! We never get anything like this in NZ. 😦

  2. Julie Says:

    The cloche looks wonderful! love the yarn you chose.

  3. Cynthia Says:

    Wonderful narrative! I wish I had an opportunity to see Lina’s Green Multnomah! She’s the reason I hunted down a skein of Wollmeise myself.

  4. orata Says:

    yay! Is that jacob/alpaca from Toots Leblanc?

  5. Journey to the West « Feather and Fan Says:

    […] met up with Prachi from Adventures of a Desi Knitter and Kristen from Knitting Kninja at Stash Yarns in Berkeley. I had met Prachi before, when she came to Madison for a conference last […]

Leave a Reply

