Round up

There’s been some secret knitting in the past few days.  I’m trying to rearrange my schedule around the fact that I won’t have Sunniva out when I’d planned, and I thought I’d work on getting some smaller projects done quickly, so as to be able to release a pattern sometime in the spring, whether Sunniva is done or not.  So that’s quietly underway, and I’m getting a little excited about the possibilities.

There’s been some less secretive knitting as well.  I finished up my Milkweed Shawl, and that was a nice, fast, mojo-returning project.   I stuck it on a chair in the backyard and took some underwhelming pictures today, but rest assured, it’s super pretty and snuggly in real life.  The pattern is fun to knit, and the fact that it’s all garter is kept from becoming boring by the fact that there are those columns of lace to deal with throughout.

The yarn makes me ridiculously happy.  It’s so cheerful and fun to work with.  It’s squishy and soft and the colors are beautiful.

I also finished (well, except for sewing in the ends) one of my Veyla mitts.  This pattern goes quite fast when you sit down and work on it for more than a few minutes at a time!

I cannot tell you how much I love this pattern.  For serious and for true.  It’s ridiculously clever, with every little detail well thought out and considered in order to give you the prettiest possible result.  These are not going to be the most practical mitts I’ve made, but they will, no doubt, be the prettiest.

Speaking of mitts, my aunt was in town recently and mentioned (and proved) that she’s worn some mitts I made ages ago until they are quite literally falling apart!  She really could use some more mitts, so that’s on my to-do list now.  The mitts I made for her were based on the simple Fingerless Garter Mitts in One Skein, but knit in worsted yarn rather than fingering weight yarn.  I’m thinking something similarly simple, but slightly different this time round.  Maybe Susie’s Reading Mitts, or Ysolda’s Garter Stitch Mitts.  Heck, maybe both!

Also in mitt news, the Dos Emerald Mitts I made that were confiscated by Mr. Kninja continued their Yankee Swap existence when a visiting friend tried them on and didn’t want to take them off.  We gave them to him and now he will not have to freeze his hands when painting out of doors.  Win!  I’ve had people ask me if fingerless mitts actually make sense as a garment, and my answer is a resounding yes.  They’re fabulous for when you still need your fingers free, but your hands are a little cold.  And they look so cool.

4 Responses to “Round up”

  1. thea Says:

    I think veyla are the prettiest mitts around!

  2. Arianwen Says:

    I love the veyla mitts they really are pretty. I rarely wear gloves but I keep being drawn to these and the colour of yours is fantastic!

  3. Julie Says:

    The milkweed shawl is so pretty! I really like the yarn you chose.

  4. Alice Says:

    Isn’t that the best when you know your handknits are well loved? I can definitely recommend Susie’s Reading Mitts. I’ve gifted a couple pairs now and they’re always well received.

Leave a Reply

