Jum

Jum, jum, jum!  Those were the keys that weren’t working on my keyboard: u, j, and m.  Today, a new to me keyboard arrived in the mail!  Hooray!  I no longer have laryngitis of the keyboard, which is nice, as I actually have a lot to say, as usual.  You never realize how often you use various letters until they’re no longer available.  (And I do apologize on a much more general level to everyone.  Even before the keyboard, I’d dropped off in emailing folks.  I’m trying to catch back up, but I’m slow and forgetful, so please know that I’m not ignoring anyone.  I’m just bad at being organized.)

Here’s where we’re at: I pushed Sunniva back in schedule to a summer release, though I’m still working on it.  I still would like to release at least one pattern for spring.  I have three options, all of them appealing on some levels, all with some disadvantages.  I am working on two of them already, and a third would be very easy to begin, as I have a mock up already.  I thought, since I’m trying to be all open about the design process, I’d open up this decision making process as well.

First up, a design submitted and rejected!  Never any hard feelings in rejection, because each publication gets so many submissions and has only so much room.  It’s also very possible that this design didn’t fit the tone of the issue.  It’s out of character for me, but struck me one day out of the ether as I glanced over at my yarn cabinet.  These colors were originally purchased to swatch for a skirt idea I had, but when I got them home, I found that I didn’t love the idea of bright orange for a skirt, much as I loved the orange in question.  However, somehow the idea of a capelet struck me and I knew instantly what it would look like.  Rather than work a traditional swatch, I decided to knit a miniature version of the capelet.  This small one fits my daughter’s American Girl doll, but is meant to represent a design for women.  It’s called the Creamsicle Capelet.

Pros:

  • Mock up will help lots with making a larger version.
  • I adore the colors and the ruffles and garter stitch – it’s just a fun design for me.
  • Meant for autumn, but light and fun for spring.
  • Fairly simple, which is a plus in many ways.  I think simple, but fun to knit and attractive is the magic formula for an accessible design.

Cons:

  • I would need to buy more yarn.  I don’t currently have enough for an adult version.
  • I love how this looks, I do, but I have trouble imagining how to wear it.  It’s cute and fun and it’s practical in some ways (good shoulder warmer, buttons would keep it in place) but I’m not sure if it’s going to fit easily into a wardrobe.
  • Laceweight yarn.  I’ve been working with thin yarns a lot lately, and I’m a wee bit sick of it.  It’s a simple design, but the yarn’s thinness may mean it would take a while to knit up, and I’d like to go fast.

The next possibility is an old one.  Do you remember last summer that I reknit my Textured Toddler Tank and reworked the design, but never wrote it up?  (Note: the name of this design will certainly be changing, especially as the new sizes are not just for toddlers.)  I really would like to write it up.  I love the little tank top I made, and I love the feel of the Cotton Bam Boo yarn I used to make it.  There are a few details I want to improve, but I feel pretty excited about this possibility.

Pros:

  • Yarn is already taken care of.  I purchased some Cotton Bam Boo from a Ravelry destash.
  • I have my notes from the previous version, as well as the actual physical previous version, and so a lot of that work is done.
  • Knits up fast, and the yarn is thicker than anything I’ve worked with in a little while.
  • Texture keeps the knitting interesting.
  • I really like the pattern.
  • Seasonally appropriate.

Cons:

  • It’s an old pattern, and it never has generated a lot of interest.
  • I was planning on sizing it just for kids.  I’m not sure how strong the interest is in kids’ knits.
  • There are some problems yet to solve with the pattern.

The third and final possibility is something I’ll be knitting no matter what, and will probably write up eventually.  I’m making a baby sweater for a friend’s baby, and I came up with an idea I like very much.  I don’t have a picture of my sketch currently available, but I can tell you that it’s a unisex baby cardigan, knit in one piece from the top down, with raglan sleeves, and some simple colorwork.  The teal and brown yarn  I posted a picture of yesterday is what I’m using.  I’m about a quarter of the way into the actual knitting.

Pros:

  • Already started, and most of the math is worked out.
  • Fun colors.
  • I have a baby model available!  This never happens!
  • One piece, and using small amounts of sock yarn, so good for folks knitting from the stash for gifts.

Cons:

  • I’ve never graded a sweater for babies.  Their proportions are tricky, and the standards I have sound off.
  • There are a few things I’ve done that sound tricky to write up.  I feel foolish, because it looks like it should be simple, but I’m having trouble writing it up concisely.

And that’s pretty much it, at least as far as I’m thinking right now.  This is where my brain is currently at.  If you’d really like to see one of these patterns, or if you have some thoughts of your own, let me know!  I’m going to keep working away on the baby sweater and hopefully something will strike me soon.

9 Responses to “Jum”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Oh good, you got the other keyboard! The only box I could find to fit mine is too big to go through the after-hours deposit so I have to find a way to post it when the office is open. (Maybe tomorrow if I sneak out of school under cover of a need to buy tea and children’s Motrin for school use.)

    Methinks Eleanor could rock a creamsicle capelet — do you have enough yarn to knit one in her size? It’s so sweet and girlish anyway. But you know I’m all about the baby sweaters these days, so I’ll be most excited if you write that pattern first. And who can resist teal and brown? Not I.

  2. Emily Says:

    Jum, jum indeed! 🙂

    I love the idea of that capelet, but do relate on the wearability concern. And the baby proportions issue? Exactly the reason I have never knitted anything for a baby. Well that, and I haven’t known any babies until five months ago. All three of these designs are super-cute.

  3. Kelly H. (WritingMom) Says:

    “I was planning on sizing it just for kids. I’m not sure how strong the interest is in kids’ knits.”

    I just wanted to address this–the interest in kid knits is HUGE! I cannot believe how popular in threes: a baby cardigan that I self-published in October has become! 🙂 I have been selling patterns like hotcakes! It is sized NB-5T and people seem to really love that versatility.

    So, I say go for kid knits! 🙂

  4. missraa Says:

    A little longer and that tank would make a beautiful dress. with a kind of drop waisted little .. I want to say split, but that’s not the right word… aargh!

    OK you’d knit the bottom front section in 2 parts and put in a welt on each inside edge then knit the 2 welts together overlapping – to give leg room for running but it would only be a little one at the bottom.. dunno if I am explaining that right – lack of sleep and prescription drugs do not for coherence make.

  5. Cynthia Says:

    I like the idea of the kiddie cardi! I love baby clothes, gotta go find one to make clothes for.

  6. Alice Says:

    They all sound like great patterns! I love kid patterns so I especially love the tank. It’s unique and I like that!

  7. Lauren Says:

    I vote for either the kid or baby pattern. The tank is adorable and seasonally appropriate, and unisex baby sweaters (especially without tons of seaming???) are harder to find than I would have thought – outside of entire books of baby patterns which I’ve never been tempted to buy… Just my two cents. Love the capelet as a doll accessory and think the knitting itself could be interested, but do feel it would be somewhat limited in its appeal.

  8. Kate B Says:

    I would vote for the baby sweater, it sounds yummy! And I agree with the previous poster that most baby sweaters have a lot of seaming! Of course, I know many more babies than little kids right now, so it is purely self-interest that makes me say this… All three designs look/sound pretty though.

Leave a Reply

