Surprise!

I’m working on my Surtsey pattern today, trying to get it ready for test knitting, and that means that I’m not paying as much attention to poor Eleanor as I usually am.  She’s pretty self sufficient, though, and was happily drawing a picture (she has big plans about being an artist) and playing quietly in her room with her dolls.  Or so I thought.  The quiet went on for a long time, which every parent knows is a bad sign.  She’s usually really well behaved, though, and being quiet could just mean she’s reading.

It didn’t, though.  She was quietly cutting her hair.  I found out when she marched proudly up to me and said, “Look!”  I think, if I’d have been able to smile naturally, she wouldn’t have been so sad after that, but I said, “Oh my!  Well!  It’ll be OK!” and then she knew that I wasn’t trilled.  We talked about how, if you want your hair cut, you tell Mommy or Papa, and we’ll happily take you to a shop to have it done.

Most kids, when they cut their hair, snip off a little bit here and there, but Eleanor is a thorough girl with strong intentions.  She gave herself a pixie cut.

I’m getting used to it! After Liam gets home from school, we’re going to go get it evened out.  Busy, busy child.

7 Responses to “Surprise!”

  1. thea Says:

    Hilarious! She actually did an OK job – she looks adorable

    (and a little pissed off)

  2. Megan Says:

    That is a $65 hipster haircut where I live. Seriously: All the American Apparel hipster girls are tripping over each other to get their hair cut just like that. She looks fantastic! Look at the wing-y ends!

  3. HeatherLouise Says:

    It actually looks quite cute! She’s a beautiful girl, to boot.
    I feel her disappointment a bit too- one of my earliest memories is standing in the bathroom, scissors in hand and long strands of hair all over, and the look of horror on my mother’s face. 🙂

  4. Julie Says:

    awww! The pixie cut is definitely a good look for her, though.

  5. Sarah Says:

    She got it pretty even, I’d say — probably better than I’d have done on my own! I’ll bet she wanted it to look like Mama’s. 🙂

  6. Emily Says:

    I cut my hair all through college & Eleanor’s first attempt looks about as good as I EVENTUALLY got after 4 years of practice! She is so cute. 🙂

  7. orata Says:

    hahahaha! oh dear. I think she looks very cute with her new pixie haircut, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

