I am happy, but I have no judgment

I stayed up until 1:30 this morning working on the Surtsey pattern.  At some point in that long intense slog, an alarm went off on my computer, informing me that there might be a Wollmeise update.  When I’m up and there’s a Wollmeise update, I generally watch them to see what the big deal is and to find out how it all works.  This time, I was tired, but pleased at my progress, and I decided that if I could, I would get a skein.  In some ways, I don’t know why.  I do not need more yarn right now.  But I did want to try the Wollmeise, and it seemed like a good idea.

So I bought a skein.  I saw what looked like a lovely dark green and I snapped it up.  I finished my first draft of the pattern, and, pleased with myself and the world, I went to bed.

This morning, I looked up the color I’d just purchased.  I didn’t buy a dark green.  I bought a teal.  A lovely, rich, beautiful teal, but a teal nonetheless.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I love teal.  But I am so. darn. sick of it right now.  If you look over on the sidebar, you can see why.  Including Surtsey, three out of three of my most recent patterns have been in teal.  Much as I enjoy the color, one more skein of teal is not what I had in mind.  I blame the fact that it was late at night, and the excitement and weirdness of the update.  I’d click on a color, the site would crash, and when it came up again, the color would be sold out.  People are not kidding when they say that Wollmeise updates are intense!

So, now I suppose I will be looking to trade a skein of Wollmeise for a different color.

In the meantime, though, Surtsey is ready for test knitting!

If you have 250 to 300 yards of sock yarn in one color, and around 50 in a contrasting color, you can make this sweater.  If you’re interested in test knitting, let me know!  I’ve thus far written it up in 3-6 months, 6-12 months, 12-18 months, and 18-24 months sizes, but I will probably add a newborn size before pattern release.  Probably.  Sizing for babies turns out to be hard.  Baby proportions are all out of wack with adult proportions, and I found the standard sizes from the Yarn Council to be off base.

I meant to review an absolutely gorgeous skein of yarn sent to me by Hasmi of Rocky Mountain Dyeworks today, but I’m a little behind schedule on that end, so stay tuned, and I’ll try to get to it by Monday!

And here’s one more picture of my pretty little model in Surtsey.  Because, really, baby pictures are more fun to look at than anything else I have on offer at the moment!

7 Responses to “I am happy, but I have no judgment”

  1. Tracey Kay Says:

    if you need another test knitter, i volunteer!

    i have yet to be seduced by the lure of wollmeise but i have see it’s effects on my friends. luckily, it’s the wooly equivalent of gold, practically legal tender on ravelry and apparently easy to swap for other colorways or indie dyers.

  2. Kate Says:

    That baby sweater is ADORABLE! I wish I had sock yarn and I would volunteer to test knit, but alas…

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I’ve been lusting after this sweater since I first saw the picture. I’d love to test knit.

  4. Bethany Says:

    That sweater is so adorable! I’d love to test knit if you still need knitters! 🙂

  5. Emily Says:

    That little sweater is so cute!! Love the turned hems and the midcentury-style colorwork. Well played.

  6. Lori Says:

    Love this, and I’ve got tons of sock yarn. I’d love to test knit this one…Tess could use a new sweater.

  7. Brandi Says:

    I may be too late on this but if you are needing another test knitter, I would love to try it!

Leave a Reply

